Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I have used this recipe for years. It is so easy, cleanup is a breeze, the Turkey stays very moist, and you can cook it longer,and not dry it out. I have made it stuffed, and without stuffing. great both ways. my family just loves it, and I usually get invited to cook the bird, even if we are the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
546 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
THANK YOU!!! all i hadd was a turkey, a leftover bag, and 8 people coming in 5 hours......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
My 18 pound turkey was done to moist perfection in just over 3 hours. I was surprised that the skin actually browned pretty nicely. The only change I made to the recipe was to spread the turkey breast skin with about 2 tablespoons of butter before putting it into the oven bag. I had a LOT of fat to skim off the juices before making my gravy, so I'm not sure how good an idea it was, or if it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Love this! I will never prepare a turkey another way! When I pulled the turkey out of the oven, it looked like the turkeys on the covers of home magazines! Perfectly golden, and even the white meat was moist and tender. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it will be in my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
i have made this turkey for two years going on three this year. the turkey comes out really moist and good. it has become a turkey tradition in our home.thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I have tried this recipe and it really works!! Another thing I added was a half apple with thyme & rosemary tied onto it and stuffed into the cavity, instead of the stuffing. It made the turkey extremely succulent. And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
My mom has made turkey this way for years and now I do too. We put garlic powder, onion powder and paprika on the skin the day before. It never dries out and it can be left in longer if you need some more prep time for your other dishes. Cleanup is a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
A huge THANK YOU! Finally a great tasting, moist turkey that doesn't need to be stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
My stepfather has been cooking turkeys in a bag for as long as I can remember so when it was finally time to do my own well this was the recipe I chose. I grabbed a cheap remote thermometer that you leave plugged into the turkey which made figuring out when to pull it out very easy. For my first turkey I was very happy to hear people saying "wow this is really good and moist."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was my first attempt at a turkey dinner. It was easy, not at all as hard as I thought. Hardest part was defrosting my frozen turkey overnight. I put half an apple in the cavity (picked up from another reviewer), and buttered up the beast along with salt and pepper to taste. Turkey came out great, it was moist and flavorful, I used a convection oven along with a probe to cook turkey to the right temperature (I used 184 degrees) and it finished in about 2 hours 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States