Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have used only a cooking bag for my Thanksgiving turkeys for the past several years, wouldn't think of cooking a turkey any other way! My family doesn't like dark meat, so I traditionally cook 2 turkey breasts at a time in the same large bag. Great, foolproof way to cook a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is the best way to cook your turkey. Been doing this forever. Same recipe in turkey bag container. Tried cooking turkey open in oven once and was not as good. I do put olive oil on skin first so bag doesn't stick to turkey. You can also cut slit on top of bag for periodical basting but not necessary. I do it because I learned it from my Mom and she is the best cook ever!lol Definitely save the juice for gravy, best you'll ever make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I cant believe how perfect this turned out! Juicy, moist and perfectly browned! Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made a 14 pound turkey using this recipe for a large group of people and I could not have been more pleased with the results. The only thing that I did differently was that I took a stick of butter and rubbed the turkey down both under and on top of the skin, then threw what was left into the turkey cavity. I then sprinkled the whole turkey with salt, pepper, and dried sage and put the onion & celery both in the cavity and around the turkey. Also, it only took TWO hours and fifteen minutes to cook, resulting in a perfectly moist and delicious turkey. If you are unsure of how long your turkey will need to cook, you can always look on the Reynolds (oven bags) website for their recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marella
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Absolutely fool-proof! My first turkey ever, and it was a success thanks to this recipe =D For fellow beginner, the turkey takes 3 days to defrost, and 10 hours to brine, which makes it stay moist and full of flavor. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was very shocked how this turned out... no basting needed - although I've never cooked a turkey before... this was great for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Believe it... this one's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very moisit and tasty- saves time in roasting and clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
used this recipe for christmas today and my family just loved it i will always be using this recipe for when i make turkey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
juicy, but a lot of water in the bag makes the final presentation very difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States