Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Best turkey recipe for a moist bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLANDO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
One trick to a moist turkey in a bag (as long as you are going to carve it before you put it on the table as we do in my famly) is put the turkey breast side down before you bake. It sits for hours in it's own juices and that's the part that dries out the fastest. I have never had such moist white meat!!! It's not as pretty but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I use this method of cooking my Turkeys every year and they always turn out perfect and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mynxi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was so good! I accidentally cut big slits in the top of my bag and I think it worked out great because my turkey look roasted. The skin was crispy and dark. It was a beautiful turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is definitley an easy way to do a turkey - or pork or beef. I have used this same method for years. I stuff my turkey lightly and it looks so golden and pretty when done....and its very moist! It also cuts down baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Anything you can cook in a cooking bag is going to be very moist and tasty. And the cleanup is awesome. I have done roasts, ham and chicken and it all is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have made my Thanksgiving Turkey this way for years now - it comes out moist each and every time!! No reason to put the bird in the oven @ 3am for a noon feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have used these brown-n-bags for over 20 years & have the perfect turkey all the time. Clean-up is a breeze. One of the best cooking inventions out there I think!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have used this method of cooking turkey for years, I have xcooked a 20-25lb turkey in this way and they have always turned out great. We have both white and dark turkey eaters and no one is ever disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
WATCH YOUR TIME! My husband and I have used this method for the last 3 years. By far the best turkey we have ever had and we continue to get rave reviews about it. Here is our secret: Thaw turkey for 5 days in fridge. Follow direction as stated above (although we use stuffing and fill the bird within and inch or so of top of cavity). Put 6 slits in the bag. When it comes to timing We usually have a 16lb bird that we cook at 350 for 2 hours and 15 minutes. When the time is up we take it out of the oven and put the lid of the roasting pan on it. The turkey serving platter then sits on top. We leave it on the counter for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Even then, when we go to take it out of the pan, it is too hot to touch with bare hands. Snip the corner of the bag as someone is holding the bird up to get out juice for gravy. Carve up the bird and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by detack@charter.net

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States