Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My first 13 pound turkey turned out great with this recipe. I need use a dry rub on the turkey instead of the salt and pepper. I stuffed the turkey too. It was a great starting point for me since it was the first turkey I have cooked. Turkey was moist with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
OMG!!! This was the best tasting and juiciest turkey I have ever made!!! I mixed about 2 tablespoons of butter with a little olive oil and added fresh chopped sage, rosemary, smoked sea salt and pepper and rubbed the entire turkey with it. I also rubbed this mixture up under the skin of the breasts. I then cored and quartered an apple and quartered an onion and put them inside the bird. I put the turkey in the bag, laying breast side DOWN, on top of the stalks of celery and onions in the bag, poured a bottle of hard apple cider over and in the bird, put it all in the roasting pan and cooked my 12 pound bird for only about 2 hours in a 350 degree oven!! After it had cooked for about an hour, and was lightly browned on the bottom, I then turned it all over, breast side up so the breasts would brown. WOW!!!! So juicy and tender. The meat just wanted to fall off the bones. I will never cook my Thanksgiving bird any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love cooking in those bags but this was the first for a Turkey. I rubbed the inside and outer skin with poultry seasoning. cooked for 3 hrs (Almost 16 lbs,and stuffed) it came out juicy, so delicious! definitely cooking my Turkey this way if i'm doing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe came out great for my first ever thanksgiving! I used one large onion instead of two!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I noticed that that the video included adding Granny Smith apple chunks to the center of the turkey, along with the quartered onions. It also mentioned turning the bag upside down for juicier breast meat. I did these things and it was the best turkey we have ever eaten, hands down! Because it was upside down, the turkey wasn't beautiful for carving, but we didn't care!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Buttering the turkey made it even more moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Turkey in a bag, where have you been all my life?? Cooked the turkey breast-side-down as a few people recommended. Followed the recipe and it worked like a charm! This is our new holiday standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved this recipe! I cooked it low and slow though and cranked the heat at the end. So soft and succulent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumYum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Perfection! I used a pop up timer turkey and the thermometer verified the cooking temp. The turkey doesn't have a wonderful presentation but if you carve or cut the turkey and place it on a dish; presentation doesn't matter. The turkey is delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have been using oven bags for a long time. The first time was a pot roast that a neighbor brought over for us to just pop into the oven. We didn't know to poke holes in the bag. It swelled up to fill the whole oven but didn't burst. The food was great. So when I started using them for turkeys, I only poked one little hole in the bag instead of the recommended 5 or 6. The bag swells up a bit, causing a little pressure inside. The bird cooks even faster and is more juicy. Bags are much more forgiving than other techniques. Better for inexperienced cooks. Two things to be careful of: 1. try to keep the bag off the bird. The skin tends to stick if it does. 2. Make sure that you use the lowest rack on the oven so there is plenty of room on top so the bag doesn't come in contact with the roof of the oven. Especially if you use the one small hole technique.The hole could plug up if it hits the top of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States