Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is the only way I make turkey! I follow the instructions on the bag box and it's always perfect! I have considered doing my turkey without a bag, but then ask myself why? I've never had a turkey that didn't turn out beautifully browned, succulent and delicious! And there is always plenty of yummy juices for gravy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBob1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was a good recipe. Your basic turkey. I did add paprika onto my turkey to give it a browned look. I got lots of compliments on the taste. I did a 15lbs turkey for three hours, I let it rest for about 30 minutes before I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Have been using cooking bags for years & years. It's the only way to fix turkey. I don't stuff it (we do cornbread dressing) but apple, onion, fresh sage and other herbs inside and fresh herbs and butter under the skin give you a moist and well seasoned bird. If you've never used a cooking bag & don't know where to buy them. You can find them with the aluminum foil and plastic wrap. They are made by REYNOLDS, at least that is the only brand I've ever seen. They make turkey sized bags and smaller sizes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
so easy and moist, so many compliments, I was so nervous but it did crisp up, don't ask me how, it's weird but it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
A never fail recipe! Absolutely delicious! I only use 1 tablespoon of flour in the oven bag and I rub the skin with canola oil before baking. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Wow...what a Turkey! I was definitely a bit worried at first, since this was my first attempt at making a turkey dinner...and a Thanksgiving dinner at that! But boy was it a hit among my 7 guests! I also stuffed it with some homemade sausage stuffing and it was so moist! The turkey was also so ridiculously moist it just fell off the bone. I will definitely be cooking turkey in a bag for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was my first time cooking a turkey and it turned out perfectly! Juicy and nicely browned. I cooked a 7kg turkey for 4 hours. My family was very impressed! Super easy with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
It was a perfect recipe! I added a bottle of beer. I like to add that with any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I was so pleasantly surprised. The bag was amazing! It cut down on cooking time, still roasted to a golden brown, and was very juicy and flavorful. I did however, season the bird with butter, poultry seasoning, garlic, and some seasoning salt as well. Thanks for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was the first Thanksgiving turkey I've ever made. I bought an 18 pounder. It took just about 4 hours to cook. I put salt, pepper and rubbed the skin with butter. I also put a little butter inside. I added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth in the bag. Very moist and tender. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States