Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Have been using cooking bags for years & years. It's the only way to fix turkey. I don't stuff it (we do cornbread dressing) but apple, onion, fresh sage and other herbs inside and fresh herbs and butter under the skin give you a moist and well seasoned bird. If you've never used a cooking bag & don't know where to buy them. You can find them with the aluminum foil and plastic wrap. They are made by REYNOLDS, at least that is the only brand I've ever seen. They make turkey sized bags and smaller sizes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
so easy and moist, so many compliments, I was so nervous but it did crisp up, don't ask me how, it's weird but it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
A never fail recipe! Absolutely delicious! I only use 1 tablespoon of flour in the oven bag and I rub the skin with canola oil before baking. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Wow...what a Turkey! I was definitely a bit worried at first, since this was my first attempt at making a turkey dinner...and a Thanksgiving dinner at that! But boy was it a hit among my 7 guests! I also stuffed it with some homemade sausage stuffing and it was so moist! The turkey was also so ridiculously moist it just fell off the bone. I will definitely be cooking turkey in a bag for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was my first time cooking a turkey and it turned out perfectly! Juicy and nicely browned. I cooked a 7kg turkey for 4 hours. My family was very impressed! Super easy with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
It was a perfect recipe! I added a bottle of beer. I like to add that with any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I was so pleasantly surprised. The bag was amazing! It cut down on cooking time, still roasted to a golden brown, and was very juicy and flavorful. I did however, season the bird with butter, poultry seasoning, garlic, and some seasoning salt as well. Thanks for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was the first Thanksgiving turkey I've ever made. I bought an 18 pounder. It took just about 4 hours to cook. I put salt, pepper and rubbed the skin with butter. I also put a little butter inside. I added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth in the bag. Very moist and tender. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
In 20 years of Thanksgiving dinners,I've never had a bad Thanksgiving turkey when using these bags. Browning has not been a problem for me, I brush the whole turkey with melted butter beforehand and I haven't needed any colorants. In fact, I sometimes still have to put a little foil tent over the breast about 2 hours into the cooking, to keep it from over-browning. The largest bird I've bagged was 22 pounds and the hardest part was the heavy lifting. I use a few tricks to get a turkey that size into the bag. I spread a very clean old towel over my work surface, which protects against juices drooling over and contaminating things, and also reduces slipperiness. I slide the bag halfway over the turkey, baste that half with butter, then pull the rest of the bag over the turkey, reach in, and baste the rest. I reach in again and spray the top of the bag with non-stick cooking spray, which prevents any sticking to the skin. I put a little chopped onion, celery, apple, and rosemary in the cavity. This year's 21 pounder was done in a little over 4 hours at 350 degrees. I really like that the juices and drippings don't evaporate and are perfect for the gravy. I'm definitely a bag fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I want to like this, so much. It's how my mother in law makes turkey and all I can taste is the bag. The skin is soggy and the turkey always overcooks, no matter how much we adjust the time. She's made this recipe with me, many times and loves it, but I can't warm up to it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States