Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have been using this method for years. My family loves it. It has always worked for me. I use a large BROWN paper grocery shopping bag. I oil and season the turkey well and spray Pam inside the bag. Put the turkey inside bag. Make sure the bag does not touch the meat on top. Secure the open end with metal picks. Remove carefully in the end. Make sure that the paper does not touch any elements in the oven. Bake as usual. Toward the end of the baking period, open the bag and baste the meat. The bag will also collect the juices, which are much easier to remove and save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have been making my turkey this way for years! Turns out perfect every time! I do season the inside & outside of the bird liberaly with salt & pepper. Smear butter under the skin & on top. Makes for the best gravy (most fat removed). I love that I can prepare it the night before, & pop into the oven the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I have been cooking my turkey's in a bag since forever. I actually cook mine upside down (breast down) and it ensures super juicy turkey every time! The last 20 minutes or so I turn the bird right side up and let the breast brown and it is the PERFECT turkey! I also always cut slits into the skin and insert butter. I have used bags and I use different seasoning every year for some variety. Italian seasonings with garlic cloves, orange and cranberries and other ways. Bag roasting your turkey is the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
9 lb turkey...I expected it to be 2 hours or less based on other comments but it ended up being 2.5 hours. I forgot to put holes in the bag. I did open up the bag for the last 15 min or so to brown it. Also rubbed turkey with olive oil and seasonings...stuffed cavity with cut apples. YUMMY turkey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the best way to cook turkey...ever! Some may argue it's "steaming not roasting" but I say "who cares?" the end result is a moist flavourful bird, and stock that will make gravy that will knock your socks off! I find if you rub the breast (under the skin) with a combo of butter and olive oil and whichever herbs you prefer..I like just sage and thyme, it will really bring out the flavour of the turkey. It took my 11 pounder just over 2 hours, then rested it for 30 min. Awesome. The last few times I've done this I've added a couple of cups of champagne to the bag...improves the flavour of the gravy (if that's possible!!). Love this recipe, no fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
First Time I cooked a turkey and it turned out great! I brined it for over 12 hours (garlic, honey and wine) then put garlic butter under the skin. I had a 12 pound turkey and it cooked in 2 hours! was really juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I soaked the Turkey overnight in Brine solution and then followed this recipe. BEST Turkey my husband and I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
EXCELLENT recipe! My husband and I served this to a group of single soldiers for Thanksgiving and they LOVED it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
came out really tender on thanksgiving 2009. onion, garlic, apple, and pepper flavors went right into the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Why had I never heard of this before? Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States