Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious! Only change I made was to cut back on the jalapeños because I am a wimp. I used on pepper and it was just about right for me. I loved how the sweetness of the yam contrasted with the spices. I served this with fat free sour cream and in whole wheat tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We eat Ayurvedically (seasonally) and have moved from ground beef to turkey with the beginning of spring. Problem is: my husband does not like ground turkey. We ALL loved this recipe, including my 4 year old son! I did not use creole seasoning, made my own chili powder, I topped the tacos with a tiny bit of cheddar, guacamole, and a drizzle of yogurt. I served them on warm (soft) corn tortillas. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This recipe was great. I was a little nervous to try it because of the interesting combo, but WOW am I glad I did. Even my dad and brother loved them and they are extremely picky eaters. I only used one jalapeno and served them with sour cream and cheddar cheese. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe was amazingly good! I was a bit apprehensive about yams and turkey, but the combination was great with the sweet and spicy of both. I pretty much followed the recipe accept I used whole grain green onion tortillas for a bit of a healthier touch and I decreased the jalepenos to 2 instead of 4. It was spicy with 2, so I can't imagine what it would have been like with 4 and we really like spicy foods. We added alittle more of the salsa as a topping and my husband LOVED it and he is picky about turkey recipes. This will be a regular dish in our house and I do think it could be served at a restaurant it's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Soooooooooo Good!!! I've never reviewed anything before but I tried this recipe because I had both the turkey and the yam to use up before they were bad and OMG am I glad I did. Being on a diet and always looking for recipes using ground turkey because there's only so much ground turkey a person can eat. I had only jarred jalapeno's so used those instead and didn't have tomatillo salsa either so I improvised with a can of Ortega chopped green chili's and some whole tomatillo's from a can that I chopped. Other than that I followed the recipe. I will use this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good. Very spicy! wow. Add some sour cream or ranch dressing to cut the bite and make it creamy. Other wise if you like it really hot keep it the way it is. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Very easy to make and delicious. Since I didn't have salsa verde, I used Pace chunky salsa and it came out very nicely! Today I made the original version and it's still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was different and YUMMY! Ok, you know you have to substitute sometimes - I only had 2 jalpeno peppers, so I put a little caynne pepper in there - and had no idea where to get tomatillo salsa (but I had all the other ingredients at the house). I bought FOR $.50 a can of Red Gold that had the tomatoes and green chilles in it! Worked fine for me! Oh - and my yam was really left over sweet potatoes we cooked for Sunday's dinner....so mine was a little sweeter! LOVED IT! I think I will eat the leftovers from it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! The sweet potatoes were fabulous in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These were phenomenal! I don't like spicy food, but I halved the jalapenos and added some red bell peppers and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States