Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious! Only change I made was to cut back on the jalapeños because I am a wimp. I used on pepper and it was just about right for me. I loved how the sweetness of the yam contrasted with the spices. I served this with fat free sour cream and in whole wheat tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My buddy ate six of them. I set out some fresh limes to sqeeze on top, it gave them a sweet,sour and spicy taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So delicious! I made a few changes based on the Caribbean-style tacos I've enjoyed at restaurants. I used more Cajun seasoning and tomatillo salsa and a little less chili powder. I served it topped with cilantro, shredded cabbage, crushed pineapple and plain Greek yogurt. Spicy and sweet all in the same bite. I used 3 jalapeno peppers, but I don't think 4 would be too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Just finished eating! YUM YUM followed it exactly with one tweak ! I only used 2 Jalapeno peppers and it was just right...a good medium spice. Simple to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'm Hungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This recipe was great. I was a little nervous to try it because of the interesting combo, but WOW am I glad I did. Even my dad and brother loved them and they are extremely picky eaters. I only used one jalapeno and served them with sour cream and cheddar cheese. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Soooooooooo Good!!! I've never reviewed anything before but I tried this recipe because I had both the turkey and the yam to use up before they were bad and OMG am I glad I did. Being on a diet and always looking for recipes using ground turkey because there's only so much ground turkey a person can eat. I had only jarred jalapeno's so used those instead and didn't have tomatillo salsa either so I improvised with a can of Ortega chopped green chili's and some whole tomatillo's from a can that I chopped. Other than that I followed the recipe. I will use this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We eat Ayurvedically (seasonally) and have moved from ground beef to turkey with the beginning of spring. Problem is: my husband does not like ground turkey. We ALL loved this recipe, including my 4 year old son! I did not use creole seasoning, made my own chili powder, I topped the tacos with a tiny bit of cheddar, guacamole, and a drizzle of yogurt. I served them on warm (soft) corn tortillas. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
We loved these! I used 2 jalapeno's and 1 habanero. The recipe sounds like it's going to be extremely spicy but the yam totally balances out the peppers. For dinner I topped these with sour cream and cheddar chesse. I took the leftovers for lunch the next day and ate it without the tortillas and I loved it just as much. Note: cut the yams as small as possible so you get a perfect combo of sweet and spicy in every bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
good recipe. Next time I make this recipe, I'm going to use it as a casserole with a cornbread topping. Very uniue flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe was amazingly good! I was a bit apprehensive about yams and turkey, but the combination was great with the sweet and spicy of both. I pretty much followed the recipe accept I used whole grain green onion tortillas for a bit of a healthier touch and I decreased the jalepenos to 2 instead of 4. It was spicy with 2, so I can't imagine what it would have been like with 4 and we really like spicy foods. We added alittle more of the salsa as a topping and my husband LOVED it and he is picky about turkey recipes. This will be a regular dish in our house and I do think it could be served at a restaurant it's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States