Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Delish! However, I did add a bit of Splenda to give it a little more sweetness. Otherwise, very good and what an awesome way to sneak those sweet potatoes in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarazion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I make a variation on this recipe and it is DE-LISH. I add half a tbsp oil to the onions and cook those up a bit before adding the turkey, then I put in the second half tbsp and brown the turkey. I left off the jalapeno and cilantro because I'm not a fan. Instead of the tomatillo salsa I just added diced tomatoes - about a cup worth. I followed the recipe pretty close for the other spices - probably added a little more chili powder. Adding sour cream to the finished product cools it a little bit. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReleaseT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were great! Next time I think I will buy some bibb or butter lettuce and use the filling to make lettuce wraps. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Flavour was great! I did not add the jalapeño peppers, used green peppers instead and added lettuces and sour cream to it to make it Fajitas instead of Tacos. Really enjoyed it, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
OMG! This recipe is AMAZING!! You have to make it now!!! I used a whole onion, prolly a pound of turkey, and enchilada verde sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I was so excited to try these and they were just ok. Not sure if I didn't cook them right or what but it was lacking flavor (despite all of the ingredients). I used sweet potatoes because it is what I had on hand and there was just something missing from them. Won't be making agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I really loved these tacos! I made a few modifications: I used a 1 lb. of ground turkey, increased the spices, used 3/4 cups of the salsa verde and served it on corn tortillas that I toasted over an open flame. YUM! I also did a version were I skipped the tortillas altogether and served this with regular salsa in addition to the tomatillo salsa over shredded lettuce as a taco salad. That was also excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was excellent! I changed a few things. I used leftover Turkey from Christmas. Shred the turkey, one jalapeno, taco seasoning packet in place of the seasonings. For the salsa i added homemade salsa. No tomatillo salsa. added lettuce, cheese and sourcream. :) YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Yams are so healthy and cheap, if only there were ways to use them besides topping with marshmallows for Thanksgiving. Enter this recipe! It's so good... one of my husband's favorites. It's pretty forgiving, so don't worry too much about getting the right amount of everything. For one thing, I only use one unseeded jalapeno (too lazy to put on gloves to seed/chop them). I also don't have Cajun seasoning, so I threw in some paprika, oregano, pepper, and lemon juice instead. Also, I add a LOT more cumin. Top the mixture with some tomato chunks, homemade salsa, cheese, and maybe some plain yogurt, and YAY awesome tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is great, but I make it with 1lb turkey, 3 large sweet potatoes, and double all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States