Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I make these often as a quick go-to meal that I can eat on all week. These are great! And taste really good with the addition if cinnamon, and a jar of sweet corn salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a great recipe and has been in my rotation since I found it over a year ago. It's fairly easy, the results are delicious, and it can be adapted to suit the spice level you are looking for by either including more or less jalapenos and starting with a spicier or milder salsa. The leftovers reheat well, too. But perhaps the best surprise of all was how awesome this mixture tastes as a tamale filling. It makes a lot and there are just two people in my home, but the leftovers never go to waste. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe far exceeded my expectations! Delicious! I thought I was a semi-spicy tolerant person, but one large jalapeno pepper was plenty for me. I also doubled the garlic as I do with all recipes and also served with corn tortillas as to make the meal gluten-free. A little tomatillo salsa and cilantro on the taco as a garnish added a nice cool flavor in addition to the already present sweet and spiciness. Next time I think I might offer some sour cream on the side as another reviewer recommended in case anyone needs to cool it down a little. Amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
this is great, we have had it as a casserole and as tacos, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I found this recipe while searching for something other than chili or meatloaf to make with ground turkey. My husband raised his eyebrows and my daughter said she just wouldn’t eat dinner that night (she does not like yams, sweet potatoes or turkey). I said “Just try it, it might be good.” OMG!!! Everyone loved it! It is now my daughter’s favorite recipe. She even asked me to make it instead of turkey for Thanksgiving! I now make it about once a week. It seems like I get a craving for “Yammy Tacos” every few days and I just have to have it. Thanks Fooddude for sharing this unusual and amazingly delicious recipe! My one tip: If you don’t like spicy, ditch the Cajun seasoning and add ½ tsp paprika instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaselsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very good! Only used two jalapenos (personal preference) and regular salsa (all I had in the house) but otherwise made exactly as directed. Will cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Wonderful flavor. I added extra Jalapenos and did not have any Cajun seasoning. Is on my list to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
We loved this! Great way to do something different with sweet potatoes AND boring 'ol turkey. I did like one reviewer said and served with cabbage. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Amazing! I love spicy food this was delicious. Followed the recipe exactly. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These came out great, everyone who has had them has enjoyed them! Who ever came up with these THANKS & GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States