Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious! Only change I made was to cut back on the jalapeños because I am a wimp. I used on pepper and it was just about right for me. I loved how the sweetness of the yam contrasted with the spices. I served this with fat free sour cream and in whole wheat tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My buddy ate six of them. I set out some fresh limes to sqeeze on top, it gave them a sweet,sour and spicy taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So delicious! I made a few changes based on the Caribbean-style tacos I've enjoyed at restaurants. I used more Cajun seasoning and tomatillo salsa and a little less chili powder. I served it topped with cilantro, shredded cabbage, crushed pineapple and plain Greek yogurt. Spicy and sweet all in the same bite. I used 3 jalapeno peppers, but I don't think 4 would be too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Just finished eating! YUM YUM followed it exactly with one tweak ! I only used 2 Jalapeno peppers and it was just right...a good medium spice. Simple to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'm Hungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This recipe was great. I was a little nervous to try it because of the interesting combo, but WOW am I glad I did. Even my dad and brother loved them and they are extremely picky eaters. I only used one jalapeno and served them with sour cream and cheddar cheese. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Dubs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Soooooooooo Good!!! I've never reviewed anything before but I tried this recipe because I had both the turkey and the yam to use up before they were bad and OMG am I glad I did. Being on a diet and always looking for recipes using ground turkey because there's only so much ground turkey a person can eat. I had only jarred jalapeno's so used those instead and didn't have tomatillo salsa either so I improvised with a can of Ortega chopped green chili's and some whole tomatillo's from a can that I chopped. Other than that I followed the recipe. I will use this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We eat Ayurvedically (seasonally) and have moved from ground beef to turkey with the beginning of spring. Problem is: my husband does not like ground turkey. We ALL loved this recipe, including my 4 year old son! I did not use creole seasoning, made my own chili powder, I topped the tacos with a tiny bit of cheddar, guacamole, and a drizzle of yogurt. I served them on warm (soft) corn tortillas. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
We loved these! I used 2 jalapeno's and 1 habanero. The recipe sounds like it's going to be extremely spicy but the yam totally balances out the peppers. For dinner I topped these with sour cream and cheddar chesse. I took the leftovers for lunch the next day and ate it without the tortillas and I loved it just as much. Note: cut the yams as small as possible so you get a perfect combo of sweet and spicy in every bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
good recipe. Next time I make this recipe, I'm going to use it as a casserole with a cornbread topping. Very uniue flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe was amazingly good! I was a bit apprehensive about yams and turkey, but the combination was great with the sweet and spicy of both. I pretty much followed the recipe accept I used whole grain green onion tortillas for a bit of a healthier touch and I decreased the jalepenos to 2 instead of 4. It was spicy with 2, so I can't imagine what it would have been like with 4 and we really like spicy foods. We added alittle more of the salsa as a topping and my husband LOVED it and he is picky about turkey recipes. This will be a regular dish in our house and I do think it could be served at a restaurant it's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States