Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Wonderful! These were a hit with everyone, including my 4-yr-old (who likes spices). I used some canned roasted chilis and a whole serrano in place of the jalapenos, since that is what I had. I half-cooked the yam before peeling and cubing, since that makes it easier to cut. Next time, I'll dice the yam quite small to spread it out more evenly. This recipe is a real winner, healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So delicious! I made a few changes based on the Caribbean-style tacos I've enjoyed at restaurants. I used more Cajun seasoning and tomatillo salsa and a little less chili powder. I served it topped with cilantro, shredded cabbage, crushed pineapple and plain Greek yogurt. Spicy and sweet all in the same bite. I used 3 jalapeno peppers, but I don't think 4 would be too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is goooooddddd!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljerry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Just finished eating! YUM YUM followed it exactly with one tweak ! I only used 2 Jalapeno peppers and it was just right...a good medium spice. Simple to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'm Hungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My buddy ate six of them. I set out some fresh limes to sqeeze on top, it gave them a sweet,sour and spicy taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
good recipe. Next time I make this recipe, I'm going to use it as a casserole with a cornbread topping. Very uniue flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! The sweet potatoes were fabulous in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe was amazingly good! I was a bit apprehensive about yams and turkey, but the combination was great with the sweet and spicy of both. I pretty much followed the recipe accept I used whole grain green onion tortillas for a bit of a healthier touch and I decreased the jalepenos to 2 instead of 4. It was spicy with 2, so I can't imagine what it would have been like with 4 and we really like spicy foods. We added alittle more of the salsa as a topping and my husband LOVED it and he is picky about turkey recipes. This will be a regular dish in our house and I do think it could be served at a restaurant it's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good. Very spicy! wow. Add some sour cream or ranch dressing to cut the bite and make it creamy. Other wise if you like it really hot keep it the way it is. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was different and YUMMY! Ok, you know you have to substitute sometimes - I only had 2 jalpeno peppers, so I put a little caynne pepper in there - and had no idea where to get tomatillo salsa (but I had all the other ingredients at the house). I bought FOR $.50 a can of Red Gold that had the tomatoes and green chilles in it! Worked fine for me! Oh - and my yam was really left over sweet potatoes we cooked for Sunday's dinner....so mine was a little sweeter! LOVED IT! I think I will eat the leftovers from it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States