Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was the best meatloaf my bf and I have ever had! Wow! I added a green bell pepper and sauteed it with the onions. I also added a couple sprigs of fresh rosemary and thyme from the garden, minced and tossed in at the same time as the garlic. I omitted a half teaspoon of salt. I didn't realize that I needed to free form the loaf, so it was pretty juicy. It didn't fall apart too bad though. This was my first time making a meatloaf and only my second time having Turkey. This is so much better than beef and I am a beef fanatic! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
What a great way to add quinoa to meatloaf. I doubled and added chopped fresh spinach to onions/garlic after cooking it and spinach blended well. I did use organic grass fed beef (unusual pick for us) and it was extremely popular with family. Will use turkey next time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I approximately doubled the recipe (used 2 16oz packages of ground turkey) so I used one big onion, a few cloves of garlic, 1/2 cup of quinoa, 2 eggs, and like others said, I used BBQ sauce instead of Worcestershire or hot sauce. Also added a little ketchup and really enjoyed it! You can't really tell it's not beef, and it's tasty and very filling and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this and we loved it. I also cooked the quinoa in chicken broth. I didn't add the hot sauce, but I did add a second egg per another reviewer's suggestion. For the glaze I used ketchup, worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, and a drop or two of Caribbean habanero hot sauce for the spice. The recipe didn't specify what kind of ground turkey to use, so I used 85/15 which isn't as healthy as lean but I liked the results. The meatloaf was moist with a nice texture. I might try 93/7 turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this with some hesitancy, but we absolutely loved the final result. I had to make some changes based on what we had on hand. I didn't have garlic or onions, so it was essentially turkey, quinoa, cheese (1/2C (60g) - I wanted some, not a lot) and spices. In addition to the recipe, I added quite a bit of onion and garlic powder, a touch of cumin, used one tablespoon of barbecue sauce in place of the hot pepper sauce, and since I didn't have tomato paste, I used one tablespoon of pasta sauce. I also rubbed a thin layer of barbecue sauce on the outside instead of the rub. I was worried the barbecue sauce (Montgomery Inn) would overwhelm, but it didn't. I also cooked the quinoa in water with a chicken bouillon cube, and the one egg was plenty. Shaped it as suggested, plopped it into the center of a 9x13 dish, and 50 minutes later we had an extremely tasty, yet healthy, meatloaf! Thanks so much for the recipe, the quinoa really makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Hey, this was pleasantly delicious. I did lessen the hot sauce (and by "hot", I mean Cholula--I basically halved it) and added a bit more garlic because we loooooves the garlic in this house. Other than that, I prepared it as stated and it was a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Delicious! I agree the secret is to bake in free form loafs so the meat doesn't swim in its excreted juices. Allows it to get a nice crisp crust and helps it hold together well for slicing. I made two types: the traditional and an Italian version with herb de province and parm. Great for sandwiches the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Super moist, not too spicy, and no messy loaf pan. I added a chopped jalapeno for some color. Due to a shellfish allergy, substituted ketchup/cholula mix for the Worcestershire sauce. Great meal - can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Eva ily loved it, very very easy free formed it came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amberlou
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This meatloaf is amazing. We broiled it for the last 5 minutes to give it some nice color. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberlou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States