Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
wow! Presentation, Taste, Kid Friendly, and Ease of Making all get 5 stars on this one. I used the pre-cooked chicken, heavy cream (I did have to add a lot more flour to thicken it to the level I liked) Made it for 6 puff pastries. Added a little garlic and cut the butter in half. Did add a little poultry seasoning with the salt and pepper. Used the frozen mixed vegetables that you steam right in the bag, and everyone loved it. Great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the reason I make turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was very good. Used Low fat plain yogurt instead of cream and thickened using a little cornstarch whisked into turkey stock. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
this recipe gets 5 star simply because its great for left over turkey. i added onion and green pepper. used cream cheese instead of cream. addded a bit of sherry. servrd on banook(flat bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Tastes good. A simple, easy dish. Served over pastry puffs. Ours ended up very thin. Next time we'll add the corn starch like another reviewer recommended. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Thank you Karin! This is a great recipe. It tastes so good and is so quick and easy. I served it over biscuits and my picky husband and four year old son cleaned their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great way to use up the turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krys
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I agree with a lot of these reviews that it is a little bland and missing something. My issue is following the instructions I could never get this recipe to thicken so we wound up adding some corn starch to lessen the liquid. I also added garlic salt to help it out with flavor but I'd suggest experimenting with some other herbs you know and love in this. I'd suggest carrots like someone else did - I really wish I noticed someone added it before I finished because it would have been an enjoyable addition. Corn wouldn't hurt as well. With some experimenting this dish would rate higher, as it was it wasn't the best. Good, but room to improve. I added this to crescent rolls. It seemed to work nicely. Definitely used some of our leftover turkey which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I'm sure the original recipe is fine all put together, but what's an "a la king" without green peppers & pimentos? I used a ton of fresh mushrooms, onions, and green peppers cooked in 2T of butter. I then added 1 can of fat free condensed cream of chicken soup instead of the flour & cream. (My boyfriend can't do milk products.) That made a great meal. Served over the mashed potatoes I had left from Thanksgiving. Made a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Oven-Roasted Turkey Breast

Tender, juicy, oven-roasted turkey breast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States