Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very easy to make with leftovers. I used mixed veggies. Tasted like a pot pie without all the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used chicken becuse we were not home for th hoilday.no left overs. added chopped red peppers,onion,and mushrooms added a little more broth and butter for the rue.It came out just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Kar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
The presentation in the biscuits got me to try this recipe (so adorable). I didn't follow exact due to ingredients on hand, but it was still a great way to use left over turkey. Like a pot pie in a biscuit. I used milk in place of heavy cream and 3 tablespoons of flour. That thickened it nicely. Oh, and I added mixed frozen veggies (green beans, carrots, peas, corn). It was a complete easy meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was great! I liked it because it didn't use the same old milk with flour option. The cream definitely made the difference. Instead of chicken stock I used homemade turkey stock from our Thanksgiving turkey, mmmmmm. My son is allergic to peas so I used frozen carrots and corn that I boiled in water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good and easy too. I did use canned mushrooms in place of fresh. I also subbed 1% milk for the heavy cream, and it was plenty thick. In fact, I had to ad more chicken broth to thin it out to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great easy meal. I have never been successful with a white sauce - but this came out perfectly. I left out the mushrooms and used half/half and chicken boulion. Also put it over Bisquick biscutes instead of puff pastry. Will definitely add this to my recipes. Double sauce for extra creaminess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used my Thanksgiving turkey leftovers. I took the advice of others and did not use heavy cream, but 2% milk instead. Also, in the place of actual flour I used Wondra. For more flavor, I added garlic powder. Pepperidge Farm sells puff pastry shells which were amazing with this. Thanks for a nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We doubled the recipe and followed it as written. Turned out great. I served it over mashed potatoes and biscuits - their choice. Great way to use up some leftover turkey (and potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Added minced onion, minced garlic and s & p to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great recipe. My family loved this. Will make again with chicken. Added madeira for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States