Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Good basic recipe for turkey and I have also used chicken. I cut out the mushrooms (which I love, hubby don't like) and added 1/2 cup of diced carrots and 1 tablespoon of pimento or to your taste. It comes jarred at the grocery store. Have also used this with half and half or milk if you don't have the cream on hand. Still turns out great. If it turns out to thin, take a little cold water and corn starch whisk together and add to pan for desired thickness. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I used the package puffed pastry shells and made the recipe for 6. I also added 1 small chopped onion, 1 small jar of pimento for color and a can of cream of chicken soup to thicken it up. My family LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was good, but it needed to be "prettied up" a little. Turkey or chicken, it doesn't matter, and in my case I used rotisserie chicken--and much more than the recipe called for. I also sauteed diced red pepper and onion with the mushrooms, found I needed to double the flour, and added about 1-1/2 T. of dry sherry. I served this in puff pastry shells and garnished the plate with minced fresh parsley. Three stars as written, five stars after some embellishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I make this recipe at least once a month. It is great for left over turkey or chicken. I use a bag of frozen peas and carrots and add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Also I never use cream, I just use milk and add a few Tbsp of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I doubled the recipe as other reviewers suggested. I also added 1 chopped red pepper which added more color. Something I added which I would not add again was a cup of pearl onions. I did not like the texture and their flavor was overpowering. If you like onions I would suggest adding some onion powder. I served this dish over white rice. I may or may not make it again. It is however a great way to use up leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe - reminded me of home, as a kid. For those who want to cut the fat content and also reduce the need to thicken - use low fat mushroom soup instead of cream and non-hydrogenated margarine instead of butter. Thanks for this - I will use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
A tablespoon or two of Marsala wine takes the flavor up another notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Delicious! I served this over wide noodles and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This was fantastic for such a simple recipe. I used Land O Lakes fat free Half and Half and also added one Tablespoon of cooking Sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was a nice comfort dish that provided a great way to use up the last of the turkey. I subbed light sour cream in place of the heavy cream and then added a couple tablespoons of chopped onions and some garlic powder after tasting it and finding it needed something more. I liked it...and it was good with biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States