Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Doubled the recipe. Substituted Mediterranean frozen mixed vegies for mushrooms & Tofutti imitation sour cream for heavy cream (due to milk allergy). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good recipe, and easy too! The only thing I substituted was fat-free half and half for the heavy cream. I served it over whole grain spaghetti noodles. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wackler5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Wonderful recipe - I too doubled it and Sauteed the mushroom first with a little butter, minced garlic and red wine and then added fresh carrot slices before adding the chicken broth. Put it over biscuits and the whole family devoured it. Very good recipes and not too bad on the fat/calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is a delicious way to use leftover Thanksgiving turkey! I used Land o Lakes Light Butter, whole wheat flour, reduced sodium chicken broth, Land o Lakes fat free half & half, and paired it with whole wheat rotini for a healthier version of this quick & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
this was really good. I added diced onion and chopped Roma tomato for color(and it is really good for you) I added 1/2 cup more broth and a tablespoon more of flour because of the extra veggies.oh and chopped garlic. I LOVE GARLIC!! served on mashed taters. I would do this one again.easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pownal, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I took others advice and tweeked it a little.Added extra mushrooms and sauted them with celery,onions,and garlic.It turned out pretty good.My husband loved it.Me I wasn't that big of a fan.The peas were way too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I ended up serving it over toast which was quite messy but I think next time I will serve it over egg noodles. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was really great. I served it over toast with a few changes. I used canned mushrooms and canned peas, being what I had on hand. Instead of heavy cream I used non-fat soy milk. The dish turned out wonderfully with our substitutions. We will make this again, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was alright. It seemed a little bland and I had to add more flour to get it to thicken. Probably won't make again, but it was a quick way to use up leftover turkey anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was one of those recipes I had to wrestle with before it gave me the flavor I hoped for. Thanks to previous reviews, I knew the dish would need some "boosting" so I sauteed a diced carrot, 2 diced celery ribs, 1 small diced onion, and one red pepper for about 10 minutes, then added 8 oz. sliced mushrooms. Then I sprinkled about 3 tblsp. of flour over the mix and poured in a can of low-fat evaporated milk (stirring quickly to avoid lumps). After tasting what I had (which was disappointingly bland), I added about 1 c. leftover mashed potatoes and 1/2 c. low-fat sour cream. Then I added about 2 oz. of dry sherry, a tsp. of dried thyme, and some salt and pepper. Better, but not there yet. I had an appointment, so I added about 1 c. of turkey, turned off the burner and left the dish in the pan on the stove (covered) for about an hour, hoping for a miracle. Miracle didn't happen, although letting it sit really did help. After reheating it, I added 1 tsp. of chicken bouillon... and that finally brought it up to a dish I feel okay about. It seems unlikely I'll be making this again, but it was fun trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States