Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I thought this recipe made the way it says really has no flavor. After I added some onions, garlic and more seasonings I thought it was better. I will have to keep tweeking this to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was good, but it needed to be "prettied up" a little. Turkey or chicken, it doesn't matter, and in my case I used rotisserie chicken--and much more than the recipe called for. I also sauteed diced red pepper and onion with the mushrooms, found I needed to double the flour, and added about 1-1/2 T. of dry sherry. I served this in puff pastry shells and garnished the plate with minced fresh parsley. Three stars as written, five stars after some embellishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Doubled the recipe. Substituted Mediterranean frozen mixed vegies for mushrooms & Tofutti imitation sour cream for heavy cream (due to milk allergy). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good recipe, and easy too! The only thing I substituted was fat-free half and half for the heavy cream. I served it over whole grain spaghetti noodles. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wackler5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Wonderful recipe - I too doubled it and Sauteed the mushroom first with a little butter, minced garlic and red wine and then added fresh carrot slices before adding the chicken broth. Put it over biscuits and the whole family devoured it. Very good recipes and not too bad on the fat/calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is a delicious way to use leftover Thanksgiving turkey! I used Land o Lakes Light Butter, whole wheat flour, reduced sodium chicken broth, Land o Lakes fat free half & half, and paired it with whole wheat rotini for a healthier version of this quick & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
this was really good. I added diced onion and chopped Roma tomato for color(and it is really good for you) I added 1/2 cup more broth and a tablespoon more of flour because of the extra veggies.oh and chopped garlic. I LOVE GARLIC!! served on mashed taters. I would do this one again.easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pownal, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I took others advice and tweeked it a little.Added extra mushrooms and sauted them with celery,onions,and garlic.It turned out pretty good.My husband loved it.Me I wasn't that big of a fan.The peas were way too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I ended up serving it over toast which was quite messy but I think next time I will serve it over egg noodles. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was really great. I served it over toast with a few changes. I used canned mushrooms and canned peas, being what I had on hand. Instead of heavy cream I used non-fat soy milk. The dish turned out wonderfully with our substitutions. We will make this again, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States