Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was a nice comfort dish that provided a great way to use up the last of the turkey. I subbed light sour cream in place of the heavy cream and then added a couple tablespoons of chopped onions and some garlic powder after tasting it and finding it needed something more. I liked it...and it was good with biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was an excellent use for leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I followed the recipe exactly but served with a basic crepe (no sugar) and sprinkled with fresh grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
My boyfriend and I both loved this recipe though I did modify it a bit. I added peppers (green and orange), extra mushrooms, an onion and half a bag of frozen vegetables. I also doubled the sauce b/c of all the extra vegis. After adding the flour to the frying pan I poured everything into a large soup pan and added the remaining ingredients. Before adding the diced turkey I rubbed it with spices. My BF and I like spicy food so once the ingredients were simmering I added some crushed red pepper, chicken seasoning, garlic salt and cayenne pepper. I served it over basmati rice. It reheats really well. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was soooo good and easy. I made with my son's favorite rice and e-z drop biscuits (from this site). It was a hit. The only bad thing about this recipe was that there were no left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This sounded so good. Because we are diabetics that need to loose weight we subsituted milk for the heavy cream and Smart Balance for the butter. I've had very good results in the past using these subsitutions. Not in this case. This was so bland I couldn't eat it. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Good basic recipe for turkey and I have also used chicken. I cut out the mushrooms (which I love, hubby don't like) and added 1/2 cup of diced carrots and 1 tablespoon of pimento or to your taste. It comes jarred at the grocery store. Have also used this with half and half or milk if you don't have the cream on hand. Still turns out great. If it turns out to thin, take a little cold water and corn starch whisk together and add to pan for desired thickness. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was just ok, reminded me of food from Old Country Buffet. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This has become our traditional holiday leftover meal between Christmas and New Years. Kids love it as well. I have served it with home made buns, bread, and on occasion noodles. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Excellent tasty meal. I have never made Turkey a la King before and was very pleased with this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This turned out very tasty. I cooked down a leftover turkey breast carcass to obtain the turkey and broth. Served with fresh (frozen) egg noodles. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States