Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great base recipe! I added carrots and onions, and used a half pound of mushrooms (we love mushrooms in our family!!). I thought it needed a bunch of salt and pepper. Maybe next time I'll add a little celery and just a touch of garlic.... It was very tasty over egg noodes, would be good over biscuits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Carper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very tasty and will make it again but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I make this recipe at least once a month. It is great for left over turkey or chicken. I use a bag of frozen peas and carrots and add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Also I never use cream, I just use milk and add a few Tbsp of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Delicious AND easy. What a great way to get rid of the Thanksgiving turkey. And even when doubled, my family of five finishes it with no leftovers! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Tasty, quick and easy. Served over egg noodles, and I used the suggested Cream of Mushroom Soup substitute which worked perfectly. The dish definitely needs a liberal dose of spices (we used lots of black pepper, thyme, basil, and even a little chili powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Excellent! We used celery instead of peas, and it adds a soft crunch to the mixture. Thanks for the recipe. It is a great help when you have slightly dry Thanksgiving turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Everyone thought this was okay, but nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
a la king has always been a good comfort stand by meal in my family since I was a kid. traditionally we use green pepper, shallots, mushrooms and about 1/2C cream sherry to the sauce but no peas. thank for the recipe great base to work from. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made a few modifications, as my husband is a picky eater. I substituted about 1/4 of a small onion, chopped, for the mushrooms. I also used canned peas and carrots instead of frozen peas, putting them in about 5 minutes before we ate. It was really good! I served it over biscuits. It was more pot pie than a la king, but delicious none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States