Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was alright. It seemed a little bland and I had to add more flour to get it to thicken. Probably won't make again, but it was a quick way to use up leftover turkey anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was one of those recipes I had to wrestle with before it gave me the flavor I hoped for. Thanks to previous reviews, I knew the dish would need some "boosting" so I sauteed a diced carrot, 2 diced celery ribs, 1 small diced onion, and one red pepper for about 10 minutes, then added 8 oz. sliced mushrooms. Then I sprinkled about 3 tblsp. of flour over the mix and poured in a can of low-fat evaporated milk (stirring quickly to avoid lumps). After tasting what I had (which was disappointingly bland), I added about 1 c. leftover mashed potatoes and 1/2 c. low-fat sour cream. Then I added about 2 oz. of dry sherry, a tsp. of dried thyme, and some salt and pepper. Better, but not there yet. I had an appointment, so I added about 1 c. of turkey, turned off the burner and left the dish in the pan on the stove (covered) for about an hour, hoping for a miracle. Miracle didn't happen, although letting it sit really did help. After reheating it, I added 1 tsp. of chicken bouillon... and that finally brought it up to a dish I feel okay about. It seems unlikely I'll be making this again, but it was fun trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great base recipe! I added carrots and onions, and used a half pound of mushrooms (we love mushrooms in our family!!). I thought it needed a bunch of salt and pepper. Maybe next time I'll add a little celery and just a touch of garlic.... It was very tasty over egg noodes, would be good over biscuits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Carper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very tasty and will make it again but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I make this recipe at least once a month. It is great for left over turkey or chicken. I use a bag of frozen peas and carrots and add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Also I never use cream, I just use milk and add a few Tbsp of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Delicious AND easy. What a great way to get rid of the Thanksgiving turkey. And even when doubled, my family of five finishes it with no leftovers! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Tasty, quick and easy. Served over egg noodles, and I used the suggested Cream of Mushroom Soup substitute which worked perfectly. The dish definitely needs a liberal dose of spices (we used lots of black pepper, thyme, basil, and even a little chili powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Excellent! We used celery instead of peas, and it adds a soft crunch to the mixture. Thanks for the recipe. It is a great help when you have slightly dry Thanksgiving turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Everyone thought this was okay, but nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States