Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
this is so good. I have made it a couple of times now and it has turned out perfectly each time. Tonight, it will be over biscuits because I bought the wrong kind of puff pastry. But, it is still amazing! I made exactly as the recipe states as my motto is to always make things according to the recipe the first time. Then the next time you can modify it if need be, but we like this as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Titus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
easy and good.D.francis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Great recipe! Made some changes per other reviews. Used half and half. Used 1/4 cup of finely chopped onions and 1/4 cup red peppers. I used land of lakes lite canola butter. Also used peas and carrots. I whisked together the flour and broth in a separate bowl ( afraid of lumps). Simmered a little longer to thicken up. My husband loved it! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is an excellent recipe for a post turkey day dinner . It reminded me of my mother's chicken of the same name My daughter and I followed the exact recipe but doubled the quantity which was necessary for our hungry family. We did have to add more flour and in retrospect could have substited a can of mushroom soup for the cream. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Merissa36
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Yummy! Best way to use up that leftover Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
After cooking Thanksgiving dinner, I want leftovers to be easy & tasty. This recipe is exactly that!!! Only changes I made- I added in a bit of white wine before the broth and added a dollop of leftover homemade Thanksgiving gravy for flavor. So good and effortless. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Incredible recipe ! Before I started, I peeled and cut four carrots into coins, steamed them, and then added them with the peas, turkey, cream and a tad of nutmeg and bouquet garni. I wanted the dish to be subtle and so I used only cubes of turkey breast. The recipe doubled very well. Thank you KARIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Followed this recipe but added chopped pigmentos to taste perfect addition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
How do you make the puff pastry boat that is in the photo? That part of the recipe should be included since that is what is in the picture. I added some thyme, rosemary, and sage for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Pretty good as is, but I like to saute my mushrooms with some chopped onions and a couple minced cloves of garlic in a little bit of olive oil, then add to my sauce. I skip the heavy cream using 2% milk instead. It still comes out nice and flavorful without unnecessary fat and calories. I also always add a jar of chopped pimiento when I add the turkey and peas. It really makes the dish not only prettier, but kicks it up a notch flavor-wise. I always triple (at least!) the recipe because it is such a hit at our house, everyone wants more the next day! This is also great served over egg noodles, but I most often serve it over buttermilk biscuits - yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States