Turkey a la King Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Family loved it! I did make a few changes since I didn't have sherry I sauted some onion in orange juice added frozen peas and carrots and when I took it off the burner I added about a cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese! Way good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Great way to use up leftovers. I used a can of sliced mushrooms and had left over carrots and peas, so added them at the end. I used cream of mushroom soup and added no cream. Fresh parslet left over from Christmas dinner added at the end and made a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren Wagner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I chose this recipe because I liked the addition of sherry and it certainly did give it a wonderful flavor. Of course I always add a few more seasonings but other than that, I followed the recipe with the exception of using cream of mushroom soup. Yesterday turned into a nice chilly Fall evening so this was the perfect comfort food dish. Thank you Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very bland-i had to add sauteed shallots, more salt & pepper, rosemary, and thyme before it had any sort of a taste. Also only added 1/2 can water and used heavy cream instead of half & half. Good base recipe-but has to be amped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was a super easy weeknight supper, and a great way to use up leftover turkey. Since I did not have the exact ingredients called for I substituted a little. My kids don't like mushrooms, sadly, but I used chopped onion and a stalk of celery, diced. I omitted the onion powder. I also didn't have the sherry so I used white wine. I know traditionally a la King uses sherry, but with a dash of sugar I think it turned out great. I served this over hot biscuits instead of noodles, and it was a nice change. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
quick and tasty over brown rice - I just used cream of mushroom soup since I had no mushrooms, omitted the salt and used a can of lowfat milk in lieu of water and half&half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We really liked this. The only major change I made was adding a small chopped onion instead of onion powder. We love onions. Plus I had some shredded carrots so I just used those. I served it over rice and it was very tasty. Added some shaved parm to the top, too. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Got Leftovers just Sick of haveing Turkey Sandwiches for weeks after the feast well now here comes the Turkey a la King Deluxe Definatly the best turkey dish known to man those people who rate it one star are just CRAZY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
As far as "a la king" goes this was so good! I used fresh parsley (had some left from Thanksgiving to use up) and added a little extra sherry towards the end. I only had heavy cream but that worked fine. We loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
What a hearty, filling dish...and it didn't seem like recycled Thanksgiving dinner! I floated scoops of stuffing on the top the last few minutes of simmering, like you would drop a dumpling. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States