Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I've been making this soup for a while now ... and like most cooks, have made some changes. I cook 2 chopped carrots, a chopped onion and 8 oz of sliced mushrooms ... set those aside until I add the turkey and 1/2 & 1/2 mixture ... I only use half of the butter and flour to save on calories and double the water and chicken broth ... this soup is still thick and creamy ... thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This soup was really good! Take reviewer's advice and halve the flour and half and half, unless you want it really thick. I also used extra wild rice. This one's a keeper for the Thanksgiving turkey leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Yum Yum...only rated 4 stars due to a bunch of changes (mostly just cuz I'm lazy...lol). Uncle Bens in the pot w/broth (more than called for, not sure how much), then put in turkey & green onions, the seasoning packets...let that simmer for about an hour. Then poured in 2 c cream and the sherry at the end. Topped with the bacon at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was not that great. First of all, it was a bit bland. More importantly, the directions for the cream part made a lumpy mess. I was able to still salvage it, but was left with some small clumps of flour in my soup - very unappealing. Also the bacon became mushy and chewy in the soup which was not good and I love bacon. My sister and her boyfriend liked it though, so I am still giving it 3 stars. I, too, added some veggies to give it a little more nutrition. I left out the sherry because I forgot it (was busy dealing with the clumps) so perhaps that would have helped the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I'm giving it a 4 because as written I think it would be dull. I used the Unlce Ben's original wild rice as another review suggested and used the 23 herb seasoning packet that came with it instead of the salt and chicken poultry seasoning. I also used carrots, celery, and mushrooms but only because I prefer some subtance in the cream. This was an excellent meal and VERY filling. I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I've made this two years in a row and the family loves it!! I don't use any water only turkey broth from the carcass. Add carrots and celery and omit the Sherry because I didn't have any this year and couldn't tell the difference. Let it sit for a bit and it thickens up. Pour over noodles or white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Fantastic!!! I did tweak a few things because of supplies I had on hand. I used chicken, boiled it with the rice/broth and then cubed. I, too, cut the butter and flour in half, and then I added condensed milk instead of cream/half-and-half. Tossed in a few frozen green peas and It was splendid! Thanks for the great recipe...it's nice not to use those high sodium soup cans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was an absolutely delicous soup. Great for those cooler days outside, to warm you up on the inside. Fantastic taste! My husband isn't a soup fan but he loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was really good soup! I added diced smoked sausage, frozen corn & black beans. I omitted the bacon and used real butter, rather than margerine. This is a fantastic recipe to work with. I'm looking forward to making again, using different variations. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Excellent Recipe - extremely tastey! I left out the sherry just because I didn't have any. I also added carrots for color and nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States