Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
used unsalted butter instead of margarine. used a mixture of 1 cup 1% milk and 1 cup heavy whipping cream instead of half-and-half. used 2/3 cup green onions. used just under a cup of wild rice. used 1/2 cup flour instead of 3/4. used 1/4 tsp pepper instead of 1/8 tsp. added about 8 chopped baby carrots in with the onions and rice at the beginning. turned out delicious; my husband said it was the best soup I've made. next time would add more pepper (or perhaps the wild rice seasoning mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
excellent! we added carrot and celery chunks. a house favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Best thing I've ever made! I couldn't find condensed chicken broth so I just used a 32oz container of the regular stuff and I still added the water. I also used brown rice since I already had it. I didn't have sherry so I used dry vermouth instead which I either doubled or tripled the amount. I also used butter insted of margarine. I accidently doubled the pepper as well and it was still awesome. This soup would be perfect for a bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Oh my gosh! My entire family absolutely loved this! My son, who doesn't like soup at all, thought it was fantastic!!! I didn't have sherry so I used wine instead. Definate keeper. I'm headed out now to buy some more stuff to make another batch. Thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a keeper! I did add garlic, celery and carrots. Used Fat Free Half and Half. The sherry was a really nice touch. I fried the bacon, drained and then used the same pan to make the roux / cream sauce. Saved a pan and added great flavor from the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good. This is a forgiving recipes and can be easily modified. I use less margarine, only a couple of tablespoons. I also add carrots and celery and use a regular sweet onion instead of the green onion. Also, montreal chicken seasoning is a great substitute if you do not have poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was a great recipe. I made it because I was trying to get rid of left over Thanksgiving turkey. I followed the recipe exactly except that I forgot to put the sherry in. Perfect consistancy and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
We had already cooked the rice for stuffing and boiled the bones after eating Thanksgiving dinner for soup, adding celery & carrots to it as we did. The soup lacked flavor so I went searching. Great idea to add bacon, half & half and butter. I melted the butter in same pan as bacon was cooked, added flour, cream, salt & pepper and thickened it, then and added to soup stock along with rice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
my family really liked this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I've been making this soup for a while now ... and like most cooks, have made some changes. I cook 2 chopped carrots, a chopped onion and 8 oz of sliced mushrooms ... set those aside until I add the turkey and 1/2 & 1/2 mixture ... I only use half of the butter and flour to save on calories and double the water and chicken broth ... this soup is still thick and creamy ... thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States