Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My family loves this recipe. Gave it 4 stars sice I tweaked it a bit. I added pasta & corn instead of rice, and omitted the bacon & sherry. We also made a pan of stuffing, and added a scoop on top to garnish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Best Turkey and Wild Rice soup I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I scaled the recipe up to 12 servings. Added carrotts, celery and 4 cloves of garlic and simmered left over turkey legs and wings to enhance the flavor. Also doubled the rice, which meant I needed to add more stock. About 3 cups. The flour and butter should be cut in at least half, as it makes way too much rue. Only added half of what I made. Used 50% half and half and 50% fat free half and half. Added more salt and taragon at the end. Very hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good! Basically, I followed the recipe. I used about 1/2 gallon of my own turkey broth, didn't add all the flour and butter (way too much, imo) and added chopped celery and carrots for color and flavor. I fried up the bacon in the soup pot, drained out almost all of the grease and sauteed the veggies in the remaining bacon fat. I added about 2 T. butter and about 1/4 c. flour and let it cook for a few minutes before adding the broth. I cooked the rice in some of the turkey broth ahead of time because it takes so long. Then all I had to do was to combine and heat. Very yummy and my guests enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This soup is DIVINE! One of the best ways I've come across to use up leftover turkey by far. My husband was ummmming through the entire meal. I made it exactly as written except for throwing in some frozen peas and carrots for a bit of color:) I have to edit my already glowing review because I made this soup and it is so divine! I could honestly sit with the entire pot, a loaf of French bread and eat the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
too much flour. added more turkey for heartier soup. used fat free half and half. excellent but next time i will use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this for the first time this year. It is a great soup to relax with because of the turkey and cherry. I think we will make it every year. I made my own turkey stock and used that instead of using condensed chicken broth. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Rich, creamy and tasty! Didn't seem to be enough rice though. More like a cream soup. My husband didn't even know there was rice in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was looking for a creative way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers. This was awesome. Tasted a little too "flour-y" for my liking but I will definitely try it again. Added some garlic salt, carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Good base recipe that I could play with to make my own to use ingredients I have on hand, use up the last of the Thanksfgiving turkey and make it lighter so I don't feel guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States