Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Excellent flavor and very filling. I add 1 Tbsp. of chopped pimento to this recipe just before serving for a little something extra... I recommend serving the soup with a hearty wheat or rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Songtan, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This soup was really good. I would make a couple changes next time though. I would leave out the salt and use a lower sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very good!! I bought a boil in the bag from a school fundraiser. This one was a whole lot better the funderaiser one. This is a keeper for sure. I want to make it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I had my Thanksgiving a week late so I decided to use my leftover turkey for this soup and I will be making this every year - this soup is great! I only made a few changes: I followed some other reviewers and added some shredded carrots and frozen corn for color. I also used about 3-4 Tbsp of read bacon bits and used fat-free half & half. I think the next time I make this I may try to make it a little lower in fat and follow the previous reviewer and cut the butter and flour amount in half and use only 1 cup of fat-free half & half. This soup is great and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is the best soup I've made to date! I will make it every time I have leftover turkey. Here is my two cents. I wanted to include a few more veggies for color and taste. Along with the green onion I chopped some leek, carrot, and shallot. Instead of adding to the broth, I cooked in 1 Tbsp. butter and 1 Tbsp. olive oil adding some garlic at this point. After veggies were softened I added a large can of chicken broth which ends up being more than the recipe calls for but it works. For the rice I used 1 package of Uncle Ben's Wild Rice. I cut the amount of butter and flour to 1/4 cup of each and then added 1/2 c. half and half, 1/2 c. lowfat milk, the poultry seasoning, and the seasoning packet from the Uncle Ben's Rice. I omitted the salt and pepper. There is plenty of salt in the broth and the seasoning mix. Also, I did not use bacon but put some bacon bits on the side so the kids could sprinkle them on. Making these changes cuts quite a bit of the fat. Adding the seasoning packet gives it a great flavor. Trust me it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
We love this recipe! It's already become a post-Thanksgiving staple that we have used for a few years now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is quite delicious. I added a can of sweet corn and used 1 cup of half and half and 1 cup of non-fat milk. To save even more on calories and fat, I didn't add the bacon. Everyone at the table thought it was excellent. I did have to add more pepper to spice it up a bit. Thanks for a great recipe that I'm sure to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hughson, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Loved the soup! The first time it was too salty so the next time I used lower sodium chicken broth and omitted the salt. To lower the fat I used milk instead of half & half. I also added corn. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I used leftover chicken instead of turkey (and decreased the poultry seasoning). Next time, to reduce the fat, I'll omit the bacon. It's good but doesn't add that much to the recipe. Had to add some milk at the end, it was so thick. This is a terrific fairly low-carb dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
best i've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States