Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe is fast and easy to understand as written. I make no changes and it turned out perfectly. I believe it would be easy to do step 1 in a crockpot, low for 3-4 hours. I'll be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a delicious soup, and relatively easy also. Like some other reviewers, I used 2% milk rather than half & half, and cut the flour back to about 1/3 cup. The consistency was perfect. It would have been way too thick for us with the full 3/4 cup flour. I also added just a bit more poultry seasoning, and upped the black pepper as well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I had a similar recipe which I have misplaced...it had pimento. I love to use this as a base for other cream soup combination. I used Zataran's Wild Rice but only half the box and it already has seasoning in it. It really turned out great. I think I will use less half and half and perhaps use part milk. I also prefer real butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This soup is one of our favorites and is a great use of holiday turkey Some substitutions I made were chicken breast for turkey, rice milk for cream, a box of rice/wild rice blend (seasoning packet discarded) and dry Sauvignon blanc (or whatever dry wine we have on hand) for the dry sherry. The chicken I boiled in the 35 minutes of simmering the broth and then removed it to cut into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years, it is an all time favorite with me and anyone I make it for. Absolutely delicious. Looks beautiful in a bowl with the white creamy broth the black rice, green onions and the bacon. My recipe does not have the sherry in it but will give that addition a try the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Made as written. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I'm usually not a huge fan of leftover turkey, but this soup is fabulous!! I couldn't find wild rice, so I used the Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice with the seasoning packet, and it was super flavorful without adding any salt or pepper. I just served the bacon on the side. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I have been using this recipe for about 2 1/2 years now and absolutely love this soup. The first time I used it I was looking for a recipe for leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Since then I have made it numerous times, usually making double batches at a time so I can share it with others or freeze it. I usually don't deviate from the recipe at all and it comes out perfect. Sometimes I do add a little water to thin it down so it goes farther. The only thing I do differently is I use a precooked turkey breast bought from the store chopped in a food processor. Who has time to cook a whole turkey? lol For the rice I use Carolina Long Grain & Wild Rice with Seasoning just because that's what I found when I went shopping. I think it adds excellent flavor overall to the soup. This is one of my favorite recipes and I make it about every 1 to 2 months, even in the summer. In fact I just make a batch and am sitting here eating a bowl as I write this review, soooo yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Best turkey soup I've ever had! Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Yes, this was wonderful. My entire family loved it. I followed some other reviewers recommendations however I kept the majority exactly as listed. I boiled a turkey breast and used 3 cups of the broth and then added two more cups of canned chicken broth. I cut the flour in half and I didn't add the bacon or sherry. I added celery and carrots and would probably add more next time. Overall outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States