Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was not that great. First of all, it was a bit bland. More importantly, the directions for the cream part made a lumpy mess. I was able to still salvage it, but was left with some small clumps of flour in my soup - very unappealing. Also the bacon became mushy and chewy in the soup which was not good and I love bacon. My sister and her boyfriend liked it though, so I am still giving it 3 stars. I, too, added some veggies to give it a little more nutrition. I left out the sherry because I forgot it (was busy dealing with the clumps) so perhaps that would have helped the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I'm giving it a 4 because as written I think it would be dull. I used the Unlce Ben's original wild rice as another review suggested and used the 23 herb seasoning packet that came with it instead of the salt and chicken poultry seasoning. I also used carrots, celery, and mushrooms but only because I prefer some subtance in the cream. This was an excellent meal and VERY filling. I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I've made this two years in a row and the family loves it!! I don't use any water only turkey broth from the carcass. Add carrots and celery and omit the Sherry because I didn't have any this year and couldn't tell the difference. Let it sit for a bit and it thickens up. Pour over noodles or white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Fantastic!!! I did tweak a few things because of supplies I had on hand. I used chicken, boiled it with the rice/broth and then cubed. I, too, cut the butter and flour in half, and then I added condensed milk instead of cream/half-and-half. Tossed in a few frozen green peas and It was splendid! Thanks for the great recipe...it's nice not to use those high sodium soup cans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was an absolutely delicous soup. Great for those cooler days outside, to warm you up on the inside. Fantastic taste! My husband isn't a soup fan but he loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was really good soup! I added diced smoked sausage, frozen corn & black beans. I omitted the bacon and used real butter, rather than margerine. This is a fantastic recipe to work with. I'm looking forward to making again, using different variations. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Excellent Recipe - extremely tastey! I left out the sherry just because I didn't have any. I also added carrots for color and nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very good. Used Crock Pot and added rice last 30 minutes. Also, added scallions, Celery, and carrots to enhance color and include some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This soup had a wonderful flavor. It was a bit heavy and creamy for my taste. Next time I would omit cream and use half-half or milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Incredible just as is. This last time I didn't have any bacon thawed so I add a little of Baco Bits. Little bit healthier and still pretty darn good. Would recommend this to everyone. This is an all time favorite especially after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States