Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Added in some potatoes,dried cranberries, and carrots to mine to make it more thanksgiving like. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this for a football game half-time meal at my local watering hole and received many rave reviews. This was very tasty! The only thing I did different was use Canoe canned wild rice instead of the uncooked rice called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barnum, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Great! Added sauteed fresh mushrooms and more rice as I like a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My family loves this recipe. Gave it 4 stars sice I tweaked it a bit. I added pasta & corn instead of rice, and omitted the bacon & sherry. We also made a pan of stuffing, and added a scoop on top to garnish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Best Turkey and Wild Rice soup I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I scaled the recipe up to 12 servings. Added carrotts, celery and 4 cloves of garlic and simmered left over turkey legs and wings to enhance the flavor. Also doubled the rice, which meant I needed to add more stock. About 3 cups. The flour and butter should be cut in at least half, as it makes way too much rue. Only added half of what I made. Used 50% half and half and 50% fat free half and half. Added more salt and taragon at the end. Very hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good! Basically, I followed the recipe. I used about 1/2 gallon of my own turkey broth, didn't add all the flour and butter (way too much, imo) and added chopped celery and carrots for color and flavor. I fried up the bacon in the soup pot, drained out almost all of the grease and sauteed the veggies in the remaining bacon fat. I added about 2 T. butter and about 1/4 c. flour and let it cook for a few minutes before adding the broth. I cooked the rice in some of the turkey broth ahead of time because it takes so long. Then all I had to do was to combine and heat. Very yummy and my guests enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This soup is DIVINE! One of the best ways I've come across to use up leftover turkey by far. My husband was ummmming through the entire meal. I made it exactly as written except for throwing in some frozen peas and carrots for a bit of color:) I have to edit my already glowing review because I made this soup and it is so divine! I could honestly sit with the entire pot, a loaf of French bread and eat the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
too much flour. added more turkey for heartier soup. used fat free half and half. excellent but next time i will use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this for the first time this year. It is a great soup to relax with because of the turkey and cherry. I think we will make it every year. I made my own turkey stock and used that instead of using condensed chicken broth. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States