Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Most excellent. Having never making it before, this was easy to follow and the "authorities" in the house (wife and daughter) give it two-thumbs up. They are already asking me to make another turkey so we have more leftovers. Don't know what else to say. Am looking forward to making another turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_DAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe was great, I made several modifications to reduce calories/fat and it still had trememdous flavor. I doubled the rice, sub'd milk for 1/2 of the half and half. I also decreased the margarine to 1/4 c. and the flour 1/3 c. I used fresh thyme, rosemary and sage instead of the poultry seasoning (really added a amazing flavor) and I also subbed red wine for the sherry. It was a bit thin, so I added 2 cans of Fat free cr. of mushroom and added shredded carrot and chopped celery for color/texture. It was a hit! Loved it put it in my permanent keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Great way to use leftover turkey! I added a carrot & potato chopped while the rice was simmering. I also substituted skim milk for the half & half and it was still creamy enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burnt Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
In the interest of reducing the fat in this recipe, I took other reviewers' advice and reduced the butter/flour by half. I also omitted the salt and used unsalted butter instead of margarine. Next time I'll reduce the butter/flour further since the soup still came out extremely thick - like gravy consistency. The flavor is very good but this recipe does need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
YUM! I made this for a crowd, so I made some changes. I used a whole white onion, several carrots, some corn, and celery. I used a cup of wild rice, a quart plus a can of chicken stock, and 3 cups of water. I had a 1 lb of ground turkey and 1 lb pork/bacon sausage. This was the meat I used. I added chicken stock granuales to taste. The end result was a real crowd pleaser. I finally know how to make a decent creamy soup perfect for those cold ND winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Jennen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
My very extended family LOVES this soup. The first time I made it, I kept thinking there was something missing and then I realized there was... the Sherry. I forgot to add it. Once I did, this was fantastic. I usually add celery, carrots and red bell pepper for color. The last time I made it, I didn't add any salt at all, but threw in a couple of teaspoons of Konrico All Purpose Greek Seasoning. The family declared that the best batch yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
WONDERFUL! But a little salty - even when I reduced the salt by half. (And I LOVE salt). Still, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My husband and I are always looking for those "leftover" turkey recipes to help us whittle away at what's left of that gigantic turkey. And while our search will never be over, I'm glad to say that this recipe has found a permanent place in our leftover turkey recipe collection. Now for the savory details! We followed the recipe as directed except that we reduced the flour to 1/3 cup for a lighter soup, and we added 1/2 of a red bell pepper for some additional color and flavor; it was delicious! Our next project will be to try and make a reduced fat version. I'll edit this post if we succeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Very good -- I modified and used homemade turkey broth and added turkey chunks!! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is the best turkey rice soup I have ever experienced. I have made it four or five times since I found the recipe back at Thanksgiving time and it has turned out exactly the same each time. I have shared this soup with friends and they love it. I can't say enough to explain the wonderful taste of this soup. I have even subsituted chicken and it still tastes great!! I love cooking from scratch and this is the most consistent recipe I have ever used. Do you get that this is WONDERFUL?? Give it a try you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States