Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Awesome!!!!! I used ground turkey instead and it came out delicious! Favorite easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is my new favorite soup for leftover turkey from thanksgiving dinner. The green onions vs. white or yellow onions really gave it that "fresh" taste. I used frozen home-made turkey stock and threw in 2TBS frozen turkey drippings. I cut back on the flour (eye-balled) because I didn't want it too thick and I also added 1 TBS dried thyme leaves. I added in chopped up broccoli stems for nutrition. Also, I simmered for 15 minutes at the end vs. just heating through. It was delicious and a hit with my picky kids. Very hearty and filling on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Velasquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My hubby loved it, my kids loved it. I made it with a gluten free flour mix so it would be gluten free. I sometimes make it with just turkey, sometimes just bacon, as a variation (and depending what I have thawed out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Was very disappointed. Very overpowering flour taste, and no favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Made this exactly as written and it was AMAZING!!! My husband and kids (all picky things) had seconds!!! I would recommend it to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe is fast and easy to understand as written. I make no changes and it turned out perfectly. I believe it would be easy to do step 1 in a crockpot, low for 3-4 hours. I'll be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a delicious soup, and relatively easy also. Like some other reviewers, I used 2% milk rather than half & half, and cut the flour back to about 1/3 cup. The consistency was perfect. It would have been way too thick for us with the full 3/4 cup flour. I also added just a bit more poultry seasoning, and upped the black pepper as well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I love to use this as a base for other cream soup combination. I used Zataran's Wild Rice but only half the box and it already has seasoning in it. It really turned out great. I think I will use less half and half and perhaps use part milk. I also prefer real butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This soup is one of our favorites and is a great use of holiday turkey Some substitutions I made were chicken breast for turkey, rice milk for cream, a box of rice/wild rice blend (seasoning packet discarded) and dry Sauvignon blanc (or whatever dry wine we have on hand) for the dry sherry. The chicken I boiled in the 35 minutes of simmering the broth and then removed it to cut into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years, it is an all time favorite with me and anyone I make it for. Absolutely delicious. Looks beautiful in a bowl with the white creamy broth the black rice, green onions and the bacon. My recipe does not have the sherry in it but will give that addition a try the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States