Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This soup is great! We used it with our Thanksgiving leftovers... we added in some carrots and corn to give it a little color. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I was looking for a recipe to use up some leftover turkey and gave this a try. I modified it a little by putting in the crockpot for the afternoon. This recipe was really easy and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This is fabulous! Perfect for leftover turkey or chicken. I will use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Center Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This recipe was really good, and we don't usually eat soup as a meal! I used turkey stock and I didn't have any half in half so I used 1 c. heavy cream and 1 c. skim milk. I also substituted brandy for the sherry, because that is what I had on hand. One other thing, just heat the soup through, if you continue to simmer the soup continues to thicken and this changed the flavor slightly. Excellent recipe I would recommend that anyone try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
What a tasty recipe for leftover turkey! For convenience, I used 4 Tbsp of real bacon bits. I also used fat-free half & half and added some shredded carrots for nutrition and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I used this recipe and modified it to what I had on hand. I had most of the ingredients. Had to use brandy instead of the dry sherry. Added some baby portabella mushroom and a few more spices and herbs. I added alittle tabasco sauce to mine when I served it. Turned out great. Will make again. Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Like other reviewers, I, too added some carrot and corn for color. Also, I added another cup of broth to thin the soup since it was a little thick for my tastes. Overall pretty good, but not sure if it is worth all the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Hearty, thick soup that tasted good the first day, but was even better the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This was so good. A wonderful comfort food on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
When I made this soup it came out very thick and chunky. I had to add 3 cups of water and some chicken boullion to make it a nice soupy thick. It tasted very good and was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States