Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a favorite for sure - I like a bit more wild rice in it, but that's just my preference. Great recipe - have made 3 batches and froze them. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I was really disappointed with this soup. It was like a thick gravy. Not very much flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This recipe makes a very tasty the day/week after Thanksgiving soup. I think next time I will add more wild rice than what is listed. The rice pretty much disappears right now. Increase the poultry seasoning to about 2 tsp. Next time will try it with boneless, skinless chicken breast. Looking forward to it. Thanks Jordanna for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had to majorally tweek this to get it to work for me. First, I just used 6 cups of chicken broth, but I probably should have used more. I started with 2 tbsp olive oil and sautéed 1 tbsp minced garlic, then added diced celery and carrots. After cooking for 5 minutes I added about 3 cups of chopped potato. To this I added my broth and rice. Because I was wary that the soup would be too bland, I added 2 tsp dried oregano, 2 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp pepper, and 2 tsp dried parsley. I also knew the soup would be WAY to thick using an entire 3/4 cup of flour so I scaled it back to 1/2 cup. I also used whole milk to cut back on the fat a little. When I added the cream mixture to the rice mixture it was more like rice pudding than soup, so I ended up adding another 4 or 5 cups of chicken broth to make it creamy soup consistency. Oh, I also didn't bother with the bacon because I had none. So all in all a good start, and with my changes it turned out to be a nice soup. It was a HUGE batch, however, so I froze some for later. Thanks for the spring board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Absolutely awesome. Super easy. I added extra celery and some mushrooms - fantastico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Delicious and very easy! I did not have bacon, green onions or poultry seasoning. Instead I chopped an onion, softened the onion with some butter before adding the rice and broth. I also used heavy cream instead of half and half. And for a little mediterranean twist I added a little bit of curry powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I am on the site looking for leftover turkey recipes. I already know we are going to have this. I've made it before and it is FANTASTIC. I have also used chicken. Sometimes I add a little shredded carrot for color and flavor. Please try this - you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
My wife normally doesn't care for soup and she loved this one! In fact, she has insisted that I make it again. I added carrots, peas, corn, and 1/2 c. barley to the recipe, but next time I would add twice as much broth to accomodate the liquid the barley absorbs. Delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Hands down the best wild rice soup I have found! Love it, so much so I have made it twice this week! The only rice I had on hand was a preseasoned wild rice blend from the bulk section of my grocery store. I just cooked that according to the instructions instead of doing step 1. I am glad that I ended up doing it that way, because when it came time for step 3, I used the broth to thin the marj/flour/milk mixture to a more manageable consistency. I like it with either chicken or turkey, and instead of marj I have tried Smart Balance 50/50 blend which worked just fine. The only other thing I do to cut the fat is remove the fat from the bacon and cook just the meat. You get all the flavor, just avoid some of those extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum! I didn't have any sherry, so I used Marsala instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States