Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very good. Used Crock Pot and added rice last 30 minutes. Also, added scallions, Celery, and carrots to enhance color and include some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This soup had a wonderful flavor. It was a bit heavy and creamy for my taste. Next time I would omit cream and use half-half or milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Incredible just as is. This last time I didn't have any bacon thawed so I add a little of Baco Bits. Little bit healthier and still pretty darn good. Would recommend this to everyone. This is an all time favorite especially after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a really good, tasty soup. I made a note to add some corn the next time I make it because I thought it would be good and add a bit more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Ok this is a great recipe. I change a couple of things. First I used maple bacon. I really gave it a nice flavor. Second I used real sherry not cooking sherry. Lastly I added 3/4 of barley with the wild rice. I also added an additional cup to cup and a half of broth because of the barley. I love barley and it really added a nice texture and complement the wild rice. A super recipe that can be tweaked to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is really good and easy. I would double the amount of rice used and not use bacon. The first time I made it I omitted the bacon. After making it a second time with the bacon, we all liked it better without. However, even with the bacon it got great reviews from fam & friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a favorite for sure - I like a bit more wild rice in it, but that's just my preference. Great recipe - have made 3 batches and froze them. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I was really disappointed with this soup. It was like a thick gravy. Not very much flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This recipe makes a very tasty the day/week after Thanksgiving soup. I think next time I will add more wild rice than what is listed. The rice pretty much disappears right now. Increase the poultry seasoning to about 2 tsp. Next time will try it with boneless, skinless chicken breast. Looking forward to it. Thanks Jordanna for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had to majorally tweek this to get it to work for me. First, I just used 6 cups of chicken broth, but I probably should have used more. I started with 2 tbsp olive oil and sautéed 1 tbsp minced garlic, then added diced celery and carrots. After cooking for 5 minutes I added about 3 cups of chopped potato. To this I added my broth and rice. Because I was wary that the soup would be too bland, I added 2 tsp dried oregano, 2 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp pepper, and 2 tsp dried parsley. I also knew the soup would be WAY to thick using an entire 3/4 cup of flour so I scaled it back to 1/2 cup. I also used whole milk to cut back on the fat a little. When I added the cream mixture to the rice mixture it was more like rice pudding than soup, so I ended up adding another 4 or 5 cups of chicken broth to make it creamy soup consistency. Oh, I also didn't bother with the bacon because I had none. So all in all a good start, and with my changes it turned out to be a nice soup. It was a HUGE batch, however, so I froze some for later. Thanks for the spring board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States