Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wonderful as stated by another review with leek and carrots, and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mr&mrs
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I had some asparagus in the fridge that I needed to use, so I sliced them into 1 inch pieces and added those in with the green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe as is! However, if you get upset with reviewers who make changes, then read no further :) I've made this several times, and have adjusted to accommodate what I had on hand. I use frozen, cubed bacon "lardons" with some chopped up carrot and celery as the first step, rather than adding bacon at the end. Once the bacon has rendered and the carrots are starting to caramelize, then I add the broth. I didn't have green onions on hand or wild rice, so I used long grain rice. I used seasoned salt instead of regular, omitted the poultry seasoning and used milk instead of half-and-half. The sherry adds great flavor, so don't skip that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this according to recipe. It was great, and received rave reviews from my family. I think the next time I make it, I will try adding just a bit of sauteed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was an excellent recipe for using leftover turkey. Yum. One of my friends who is staying with us, who admits to being a picky eater, loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
All I have to say is OMG, this is awesome-good. Will make it again. Only thing that I did different: I bought turkey cutlets, pan fried till cooked through. Then mixed the butter into the same pan to loosen the bits & pieces and continued with the recipe. YUM thanks Jordanna Novak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
It had a good flavor but was WAY too thick, even after I thinned it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I was so pleasantly surprised at how fabulous this soup was! I'm not familiar with 'condensed' chicken broth so I used 3 14.5oz cans of reduced sodium chicken broth and only 1 cup of water. I added a handful of matchstick carrots & didn't measure how much turkey I added, but otherwise made as directed. It was so good I ate two bowls for dinner! Even the reheated leftovers stayed creamy and rich. This is definately a keeper for my leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBJudy
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Amazing Recipe. I did add a bit to it however. I sauteed garlic, onion in a tiny bit of olive oil, then added chopped baby carrots and mushrooms. I sauteed that for about 10 minutes until the mushrooms looked like they were getting cooked. Then I added the chicken stock, rice and a handful of green onions. I followed the recipe for the next 2 steps. I probably will mix half and half and milk next time and cut the butter, but this soup came out amazing, worthy of Panera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBJudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
THIS recipe, with the roux, would be way too thick, so I only gave it 3 stars. However, I tried it with 50% more chicken broth and just added 1.5 cups of whipping cream and it turned out really good, a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States