Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Great way to use leftover turkey! I added a carrot & potato chopped while the rice was simmering. I also substituted skim milk for the half & half and it was still creamy enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burnt Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
In the interest of reducing the fat in this recipe, I took other reviewers' advice and reduced the butter/flour by half. I also omitted the salt and used unsalted butter instead of margarine. Next time I'll reduce the butter/flour further since the soup still came out extremely thick - like gravy consistency. The flavor is very good but this recipe does need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
YUM! I made this for a crowd, so I made some changes. I used a whole white onion, several carrots, some corn, and celery. I used a cup of wild rice, a quart plus a can of chicken stock, and 3 cups of water. I had a 1 lb of ground turkey and 1 lb pork/bacon sausage. This was the meat I used. I added chicken stock granuales to taste. The end result was a real crowd pleaser. I finally know how to make a decent creamy soup perfect for those cold ND winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Jennen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
My very extended family LOVES this soup. The first time I made it, I kept thinking there was something missing and then I realized there was... the Sherry. I forgot to add it. Once I did, this was fantastic. I usually add celery, carrots and red bell pepper for color. The last time I made it, I didn't add any salt at all, but threw in a couple of teaspoons of Konrico All Purpose Greek Seasoning. The family declared that the best batch yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
WONDERFUL! But a little salty - even when I reduced the salt by half. (And I LOVE salt). Still, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Emery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My husband and I are always looking for those "leftover" turkey recipes to help us whittle away at what's left of that gigantic turkey. And while our search will never be over, I'm glad to say that this recipe has found a permanent place in our leftover turkey recipe collection. Now for the savory details! We followed the recipe as directed except that we reduced the flour to 1/3 cup for a lighter soup, and we added 1/2 of a red bell pepper for some additional color and flavor; it was delicious! Our next project will be to try and make a reduced fat version. I'll edit this post if we succeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Very good -- I modified and used homemade turkey broth and added turkey chunks!! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is the best turkey rice soup I have ever experienced. I have made it four or five times since I found the recipe back at Thanksgiving time and it has turned out exactly the same each time. I have shared this soup with friends and they love it. I can't say enough to explain the wonderful taste of this soup. I have even subsituted chicken and it still tastes great!! I love cooking from scratch and this is the most consistent recipe I have ever used. Do you get that this is WONDERFUL?? Give it a try you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was very good soup, but I personally didn't care for the almonds in it. Delicious but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Excellent flavor and very filling. I add 1 Tbsp. of chopped pimento to this recipe just before serving for a little something extra... I recommend serving the soup with a hearty wheat or rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Songtan, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States