Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I excluded the almonds and used leftover smoked turkey. I prefer a creamier base and probably would have gotten that if I had used half and half instead of the 2% I had on hand. I pureed the cooked onions and celery as one reviewer suggested but had issues cooking the flour. Would recommend cooking the flour separately, adding the pureed veggies, then the stock. Definitely needed the extra spices as others suggested. I added rosemary, sage, thyme, and garlic. A good warm you up meal :) **Next day had to add more turkey stock and milk as the rice had soaked up too much of the broth. Good thing I made it in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dying_sun

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great recipe. Made exactly as recipe called, except minor changes: used a basmati rice mixture from Trader Joe's, shunned the almonds, and added chopped water chestnuts. I also added a bit more broth (chicken) than called for and chopped/diced the carrots instead of shredding and softened them along with the onions and celery. Seriously, very very good recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This soup recipe is delicious! I added a cup of each of the veggies and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Add Mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I love this soup, I used all the same ingredients except almonds, not really a fan!! The flavors are amazing, I also followed another review I read and used my immersion blender to make the soup have an smoother base, I also avoided the taste of eating whole pieces of cooked celery which no one in my family likes!!! I will be making this every time I roast a turkey, or chicken!!! And FYI I cooked a small turkey in the crock pot for this recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I LOVE this soup!! Everyone I know LOVED the soup. My husband hates soup and turkey, but he loved it too! The only things I did differently was that I like to use the body of the turkey, the bones and all. I let it cook with all the veggies, broth, and spices for about an hour. Then I added the milk and rice at the end. I also added more veggies as I like a hardier soup to fill me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I followed the directions to this almost exactly (using chicken instead of turkey). It was bland. Really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great base recipe. Upped the carrots & celery to 1 cup (diced). Also, added some chopped mushrooms and 2-3 cups more of stock. Spices added: thyme, rosemary, sage and curry. Used 1% milk instead of cream. Really nice flavor and family friendly. Recommend giving this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
We found it to be bland and we did not like the slivered almonds in a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excellent, but very rich! I left out the almonds, though, and it was fine. Used chicken stock and upped the veggies as other reviewers suggested. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States