Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Very yummy, definitely a keeper. Made exactly as written except for: 8oz sliced mushrooms(needed to use them up), about 3/4 cup each of onions, celery, and diced carrot. Used fat-free half and half, 1cup, which gave it more of a chowdery feel as opposed to a thick soup. Omitted almonds, added a little Italian seasoning which gave it the ooomph it needed. Next time I might use half butter/half broth at the beginning to cut fat down even more. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Wonderful soup that helped use up some ingredients from Thanksgiving. I made a portion without the H&H and almonds for a friend on a low-potassium diet, which was very good. But adding those ingredients really kicks it up a notch. I will definitely make it again. That bit of lemon is genius! P.S. I made the wild rice the night before, which made putting it all together a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Used black rice bc I didn't have wild rice. My roux didn't come out as it usually does which is why the flavor was off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was the best turkey soup I have ever had. What a great way to use up a turkey! I used double the carrots and way too much turkey but wow it was good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
It was good, but not TDF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Second time trying this and used roasted chicken meat in place of turkey. Used brown rice, and doubled onions, carrots and celery (cooked carrots with onions and celery), and didn't add the slivered almonds. Again, this soup is so flavorful and has become one of our top two soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I lost my wild rice soup recipe and this very close! Love it. I did add less turkey only 1 cup. The flavors are great! I did not have trouble adding the flour, you have to just keep whisking and not on high heat. I also used a little less rice I had cooked the whole 4oz box and just added as I thought was right. Thank you so much the one I had added diced ham and chicken. I will try that next time with your recipe too. Comfort food on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this with our leftover turkey and turkey stock from our Christmas dinner. Unfortunately I didn't have any celery or almonds, but did have a bunch of baby portabella mushrooms that needed to be used, so sliced them and tossed in with the other veggies. Used a bit more veggies than 1/4 cup of each (whole onion, 4 scallions, two carrots, and 8 oz. of mushrooms), but I still kept the other measurements the same. I did add in a bit more spices, first celery seed since I didn't have that, and a few shakes of poultry seasoning, dried parsley, garlic powder. The soup was perfect tasting, seems many soup recipes add way too much flour and butter, but the balance made just the right consistency and not over powering floury taste. Will use this recipe as my base from now on for turkey soup. By the way chicken stock would work just as well if you don't have turkey stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This soup is great!!! I made it from the turkey stock I made after thanksgiving. My whole family loved it. I'm making it again this weekend. Still have leftover turkey and stock. What can I say. It was a big bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Really good! I like a thicker soup so doubled the veggies. It was a hit with the boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waseca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States