Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I put in about a cup each of carrots and celery, finely dicing the carrots and cooking them along with the onions. Used whole milk rather than half-and-half. No almonds. So, pretty true to the recipe overall. It tasted amazing, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This soup is AWESOME! I only made a few moderations to the recipe. I excluded the almonds, salt (used a little bit of garlic salt w/parsley), and added one cup of half-and-half. The consistency was great and it had excellent flavor! My family loved it! This is certainly a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. I wanted to use my leftovers without going to the store. I did this but I had to change the recipe a little bit. For the turkey broth I used my leftover gravy and I added 2 cups of water to that. I used 1 percent milk instead of half and half. I also used a packet of cheddar potato soup mix by Bear Creek. I have to say this soup was better than any soup I have ever had at any resteraunt. I am making one more batch in a couple days and freezing it for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper! I only made a couple of changes - added sliced mushrooms and fresh parsley. I didn't have enough turkey stock and used chicken broth...it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe was delicious! The only change I made, because my husband does not really like pieces of cooked onion or celery in soup, is that I pureed the soup in a blender right before adding the rice and turkey. The result was incredible...it made the broth even creamier than before and silky smooth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
this is delicious. Extra veggies don't hurt! And for lack of half//half and cream, I used 2 percent milk. The lemon is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This soup is the BEST! I did change a little - used Rice-A-Roni long grain & wild rice instead of uncooked, and didn't add the lemon juice (I will try that one day) but I made two batches with all my leftover turkey. I have 12 portions frozen for lunches - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZMOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
We had this tonight from smoked turkey leftovers; hubby went back for seconds, and the kids (10, 12) loved it. I served it with sliced French bread, brushed with melted butter and baked at 400 for 10 mins. Nice job! This is a keeper! The lemon juice added a touch of "brightness" to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This soup was delicious! We did add a little thyme, a chicken boullion cube and a little more salt. We also used Grandmas noodles II instead of rice and didn't add the almonds since my daughter hates nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
soup turned out tasty. enjoyed the texture and how much more like a meal it was than turkey soups past. Does need more broth than called for in recipe if you want it more soup-like and not stew-like. definite keeper for next post-thanksgiving leftover parade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States