Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very Good! Best Wild Rice soup I have made. I made a few changes to make it gluten free for my family by adding brown rice flour instead of reg flour and used GF chicken stock. Could not tell the difference. Also added the carrots in with the onion and celery for time sake and left out the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe was delicious! The only change I made, because my husband does not really like pieces of cooked onion or celery in soup, is that I pureed the soup in a blender right before adding the rice and turkey. The result was incredible...it made the broth even creamier than before and silky smooth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Fabulous! Made enough for me to freeze for a later dinner since it is just my hubby and me. I love the variation that can be made by adding different vegetables. We are definitely keeping this in the winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup was delicious! Filling, creamy, and flavorful. I will be making it again. I doubled the amount of onions and celery, and I did not add the almonds- they just didn't appeal to me. I also simmered the soup with a turkey leg bone for added flavor and removed it before adding the half and half- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
We had this tonight from smoked turkey leftovers; hubby went back for seconds, and the kids (10, 12) loved it. I served it with sliced French bread, brushed with melted butter and baked at 400 for 10 mins. Nice job! This is a keeper! The lemon juice added a touch of "brightness" to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was a fantastic soup!! I made it mostly as written, although I doubled the celery, onion and finely chopped about 6 carrots (small, heirloom ones from my garden). I sauteed the carrots with the other vegs, but otherwise followed the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Galynn, this is delicious! Wow, we loved it! It used up our leftover turkey and gravy (2.5 c. gravy + 1.5 c. water). It worked great! We used diced carrots and 1/2 c. sour cream in place of the half and half. Such a forgiving, flexible recipe. The almond flavor wasn't very noticeable, but it gave a nice texture to the soup. Served it with fresh bread. Mmm, can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Oh, my word. Wow. I just roasted a pre-Thanksgiving turkey and made a triple batch of this soup for our large family. Before we ate it, I just kept testing it and testing it- it's that good!! This is a super flavorful recipe; one we'll be returning to often. BTW, I added mushrooms and left out the almonds, but I may add them next time. Mmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bozey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I substituted 1/2 cup sour cream for the full cream and had no almonds to add, but followed the rest of the recipe as-is. Wonderful soup; I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was fantastic, but came out just a little thick for my liking. Next time I'll try reducing the butter/oil and flour used by half. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States