Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Used black rice bc I didn't have wild rice. My roux didn't come out as it usually does which is why the flavor was off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was the best turkey soup I have ever had. What a great way to use up a turkey! I used double the carrots and way too much turkey but wow it was good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
It was good, but not TDF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Second time trying this and used roasted chicken meat in place of turkey. Used brown rice, and doubled onions, carrots and celery (cooked carrots with onions and celery), and didn't add the slivered almonds. Again, this soup is so flavorful and has become one of our top two soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I lost my wild rice soup recipe and this very close! Love it. I did add less turkey only 1 cup. The flavors are great! I did not have trouble adding the flour, you have to just keep whisking and not on high heat. I also used a little less rice I had cooked the whole 4oz box and just added as I thought was right. Thank you so much the one I had added diced ham and chicken. I will try that next time with your recipe too. Comfort food on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this with our leftover turkey and turkey stock from our Christmas dinner. Unfortunately I didn't have any celery or almonds, but did have a bunch of baby portabella mushrooms that needed to be used, so sliced them and tossed in with the other veggies. Used a bit more veggies than 1/4 cup of each (whole onion, 4 scallions, two carrots, and 8 oz. of mushrooms), but I still kept the other measurements the same. I did add in a bit more spices, first celery seed since I didn't have that, and a few shakes of poultry seasoning, dried parsley, garlic powder. The soup was perfect tasting, seems many soup recipes add way too much flour and butter, but the balance made just the right consistency and not over powering floury taste. Will use this recipe as my base from now on for turkey soup. By the way chicken stock would work just as well if you don't have turkey stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This soup is great!!! I made it from the turkey stock I made after thanksgiving. My whole family loved it. I'm making it again this weekend. Still have leftover turkey and stock. What can I say. It was a big bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Really good! I like a thicker soup so doubled the veggies. It was a hit with the boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waseca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I excluded the almonds and used leftover smoked turkey. I prefer a creamier base and probably would have gotten that if I had used half and half instead of the 2% I had on hand. I pureed the cooked onions and celery as one reviewer suggested but had issues cooking the flour. Would recommend cooking the flour separately, adding the pureed veggies, then the stock. Definitely needed the extra spices as others suggested. I added rosemary, sage, thyme, and garlic. A good warm you up meal :) **Next day had to add more turkey stock and milk as the rice had soaked up too much of the broth. Good thing I made it in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dying_sun

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great recipe. Made exactly as recipe called, except minor changes: used a basmati rice mixture from Trader Joe's, shunned the almonds, and added chopped water chestnuts. I also added a bit more broth (chicken) than called for and chopped/diced the carrots instead of shredding and softened them along with the onions and celery. Seriously, very very good recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States