Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Used Chef John's recipe for roasted turkey, which was amazing. Made this soup today and took a shortcut by using packaged brown and wild rice with seasoning packet. Increased the veggies and left out the almonds. Very, very good (and rich) soup. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
So simple and delicious! Same as with any recipe, add or subtract what makes it right for you. I followed the recipe as written and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I added extra onion, celery and started the carrots at the same time so they would be more tender. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is the first time I've ever rated an recipe here, although I use them all the time. This soup is amazing. Made it with some leftover shredded turkey and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and everytime it turns out delicious. I follow the recipe pretty true to the original recipe. Sometimes I substitute fat free half and half for real half and half and haven't noticed a significant change in the flavor. The lemon adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious! Subbed noodles for the wild rice to make it more kid-friendly. Didn't make enough for leftovers so next time I would double it. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make a lot of soups, and this one is a big favorite. Easy and tasty. Only changes -- added more onion, carrots and celery, about a cup of each, used black rice, and used whole milk to lower the fat. Next time, I will use 2- or 1-percent. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I thought it was great. Made per instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
One word, DELICIOUS! I added fresh thyme, parsley, mushrooms,extra vegetables from list, only had 2 cups turkey broth so added 2 cans low sodium chicken broth. My husband was skeptical but after 1 bite loved it! While rice was simmering, I chopped vegetables and cut up the cooked turkey. The celery and carrots were not mushy but had little crunchy which we liked. Will definitely make this again.- Dee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good. I substituted Turkey schmaltz for butter and added rosemary, thyme and sage to taste. A hearty warm soup for cold weather days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States