Turkey Wild Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Delicious!! I skipped the almonds because I thought I had some, but didnt! Best turkey soup recipe I've made. Wild rice is expensive ($6-$7/lb) but worth it. You really want that nutty, earthy, hearty rice in this. White or brown would not be the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Excellent! If you're creative, this is a great base to make a fantastic soup with leftover turkey. Didn't have carrots, but added cooked bacon and cubed up potato. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I make it often and we all love it. I like to add some poultry seasoning or sage and thyme, other than that is is delicious as is or with additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECHOQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Jeni T
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Turned out just as I hoped it would. Perfect. I'm sure it is even better as written, I modified it a bit. Swapped the butter for 1/4 c of olive oil, used 2% evap milk, added 1/4 c grated parm cheese and some chopped green beans. Oh and I just chopped the carrots and added them in with the onions and celery. Cooked it on a low boil for about a half hour when everything was in the pot. Nothing like a great bowl of homemade soup like this one ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This soup is delicious. I used tapioca starch instead of flour to thicken it as I wanted it to be gluten free. I've made it twice in the last week, the second time adding mushrooms to the onion, celery, and carrot mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made this exactly like the recipe says except I used Uncle Bens wild rice which was lightly seasoned and left out the almonds. Yum. Best turkey soup I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook w/ 'tude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was very good. I used brown rice because that's what I had on hand and it came out decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
we found this soup to be " just okay". Followed the recipe exactly. It really needed something in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This soup are a pleasant change from the ordinary. I used fat free half and half and only had orzo on hand and it was very special. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very good with flavored turkey stock from Cajun seasoned turkey. Did not have to add any spices. Cut butter down to 2 teaspoons vs 6 tablespoons. Didn't miss or need it. Used 1/2 cup fat free half and half and half and 1 cup skim milk. Doubled all the veggies. Soup was rich flavorful and delicious. Was able to lighten the recipe and did not sacrifice taste. Even hubby who hates turkey soup had 3 bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States