Turkey Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I wish we could have had this instead of turkey on Thanksgiving. But then I did get to look forward to making this with the leftovers. I just threw some tortilla chips I had which were fresh made at a restaurant into it instead of the strips at the beginning. I also tossed in some garlic and a can of black beans. It was delicious! My favorite way to eat turkey :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was fantastic!!! I used homemade turkey stock and added some corn. Really great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I started this very close to the recipe using only red enchilada sauce because I didn't have any green and omitting the cumin (don't care for it--used smoked paprika instead)and using cream instead of half and half (1/2 cup instead of full cup). But the flavor just wasn't there for me. I sauteed onions and garlic and added those. Still needed something, so I added part of a jar of homemade salsa, a bit of Velveeta cheese I had leftover from dip made over the holiday, and I dumped in some frozen corn and drained and rinsed pink beans. Tasted then added a couple tablespoons of pureed chipotles in adobo sauce. It's better, but it still seems to be missing something for our tastes. I may try again using green sauce and keeping the onions and garlic, too. Great way to use leftover turkey, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I used this to use up leftover thanksgiving turkey that I had chopped thin. Very spicy and creamy. The baste I had used on my thanksgiving turkey was a bit off flavor wise for this recipe, but I'm sure it would be great with a more "neutral" turkey seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brisa Wiemiller
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this with some leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. I did tweak it a bit by first sauteing 1/2 cup chopped onion and 4 celery stalks in olive oil. I then added the chopped turkey and browned it a bit before adding the chicken broth and cream. I doubled the green enchilada sauce and omitted the red enchilada sauce. My family loved this topped with salsa, tortilla chips, shredded Monterrey jack and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brisa Wiemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunniedm
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was a nice thick soup. I followed other reviews and used a whole box of chicken broth with the 12 corn tortillas, a 10 oz. can of each enchilada sauce, sauted onion & 3 large garlic cloves in olive oil before adding broth, used whole milk rather than H&H, added 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes, 1 can of black beans and some frozen corn. Since by mistake I picked up one HOT Rotel Can rather than the Original it was a bit spicy for us. I toned it down as another review said with 1 cup of sour cream. May keep that in next time anyway. Thanks to other reviewers for these interesting tweaks. I will make this again. UPDATE: This just tastes better every day. I think I'll leave in the one can of Hot Rotel and one Original next time plus the 1 cup of sour cream. Hubby loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The original recipe may be fine but I incorporated many of the changes in the reviews and it was wonderful. I sauteed onions and garlic and added it to the turkey and chicken broth with a can of drained corn, a can of Rotel tomatoes, no red enchilada sauce and about 3/4 of a bottle of Herdez salsa verde. I only had flour torillas so I put some in the chicken broth to thicken the soup and baked the rest for a topping. I used mexican mix cheese, baked torillas and sour cream on top of the soup. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe was SUPER tasty! Honestly a great way to deal with turkey leftovers after Thanksgiving. It tasted even better when I had it the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was a little leary about how the tortillas work/hold up in this soup, but I followed the recipe and found out that this was great. The thickness that the tortillas gave made it a heartier soup and the flavor was awesome. In place of the chicken broth, I boiled my turkey carcas. Worked great. Wasn't sure my husband would like this, so, since I had so much leftover broth from the carcas, I made a turkey vegetable soup as well and served both. This soup was the clear winner. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
quick, easy and absolutely delicious! I added corn and black beans. I cut out the half and half and added a dollop of sour cream to my bowl. Great recipe, thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Groves
Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States