Turkey Thighs in Brown Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious! Added extra garlic and had 1/2 amount of mushrooms. Next time I'll use entire amount as they were really good in brown sauce. Took about 20 minutes longer to cook thighs because they were pretty big. I'm going to try this recipe with chicken next time and make pasta as a side dish. Tasted almost "marsala" like. Huge hit at our house. It's a keeper; going into the recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My rules of thumb for cooking are to use what I have and to experiment. Substituted brandy for sherry and lemon pepper seasoning for poultry seasoning, then cut out the mushrooms (husband hates them). Then I added a can of tomatoes for some extra moisture and texture as well as some leftover cooked broccoli normandy. Served with rice as suggested. (I always add a bit of bouillon to the water when cooking rice.) I checked on the turkey every ten minutes, to flip it and stir all the additional vegetables. This must have resulted in a lot of heat loss, because it took far longer to reach 165 degrees (over an hour) than the recipe said. Turned out deliciously -- very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Just made this tonight. Delicious! The only thing different I did was to substitute the the cream of chicken soup with a cream soup base recipe of Nell Marshes that I got from this site. Will definitely be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
gravy was to die for. Will make again & will use chicken parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Really good, and the gravy would be good on potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I made mine in the crock pot and they came out just fabulous. I will be making them all year 'round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
the first two times i made this it was great. the only thing different that i did was to debone the thighs and cut them in half before cooking. and since i didn't have a can of cream of chicken, i used cornstarch and chicken bullion with a little bit of water. this time, however, i tried using a 14" carbon steel wok. I do not recommend a carbon steel wok for cooking this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Had no sherry, never have sherry, skipped the sherry. Made the cream of chicken soup with butter, flour, bouillon, milk, and water. Big whoop, wanna fight about it? Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made it just as printed but I put in the whole can of soup, skipped the garlic and used turkey broth (turkey bouillon -- the paste kind you dilute). It was so delicious and our company loved it! I will definitely make this one a lot! Thank you, Elizabeth! I served it with kale and the flavors together were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was really good. Used the basic idea and added my own twist. I used dried minced onion instead of fresh, and entire can of cream of chicken soup, left out the sherry, and placed my turkey piece on top of the sauce. I seasoned the turkey with salt and garlic and poultry seasoning, and roasted it uncovered. Super delish, and made a fantastic gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States