Turkey Thighs in Brown Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made it just as printed but I put in the whole can of soup, skipped the garlic and used turkey broth (turkey bouillon -- the paste kind you dilute). It was so delicious and our company loved it! I will definitely make this one a lot! Thank you, Elizabeth! I served it with kale and the flavors together were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Had no sherry, never have sherry, skipped the sherry. Made the cream of chicken soup with butter, flour, bouillon, milk, and water. Big whoop, wanna fight about it? Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
the first two times i made this it was great. the only thing different that i did was to debone the thighs and cut them in half before cooking. and since i didn't have a can of cream of chicken, i used cornstarch and chicken bullion with a little bit of water. this time, however, i tried using a 14" carbon steel wok. I do not recommend a carbon steel wok for cooking this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made this for the second time on Christmas day. After searing meat and browning veg I finished in crockpot. I did add some roasted garlic to veg plus a little thyme for the mushrooms and used homedmade turkey stock in place of chicken - what I had. Just as great second time. Have some sauce left and think will use as base for turkey salisbury steak - sounds good right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I made mine in the crock pot and they came out just fabulous. I will be making them all year 'round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Really good, and the gravy would be good on potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I needed a turkey thigh recipie asap so I used this a guide but used "go with what you have on hand" approach also. Used cream of mushroom soup since I didn't have mushrooms and red wine since I didn't have sherry. Add some Thyme and Sage and extra garlic. Turned out great. I'll try with chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
gravy was to die for. Will make again & will use chicken parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious! Added extra garlic and had 1/2 amount of mushrooms. Next time I'll use entire amount as they were really good in brown sauce. Took about 20 minutes longer to cook thighs because they were pretty big. I'm going to try this recipe with chicken next time and make pasta as a side dish. Tasted almost "marsala" like. Huge hit at our house. It's a keeper; going into the recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I didn't have any cream of chicken soup mix. So I chopped up half an onion and a stalk of celery and sauteed them in a butter/olive oil mix until they were tender, then added 2-3 T flour, added ~3 cups (total) of chicken stock, salt, pepper, a bay leaf, a dash of thyme, and ~1/4 C sherry. Then I let it sit until the turkey thighs were brown and poured it over. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States