Turkey Thighs in Brown Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was really good. Used the basic idea and added my own twist. I used dried minced onion instead of fresh, and entire can of cream of chicken soup, left out the sherry, and placed my turkey piece on top of the sauce. I seasoned the turkey with salt and garlic and poultry seasoning, and roasted it uncovered. Super delish, and made a fantastic gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My rules of thumb for cooking are to use what I have and to experiment. Substituted brandy for sherry and lemon pepper seasoning for poultry seasoning, then cut out the mushrooms (husband hates them). Then I added a can of tomatoes for some extra moisture and texture as well as some leftover cooked broccoli normandy. Served with rice as suggested. (I always add a bit of bouillon to the water when cooking rice.) I checked on the turkey every ten minutes, to flip it and stir all the additional vegetables. This must have resulted in a lot of heat loss, because it took far longer to reach 165 degrees (over an hour) than the recipe said. Turned out deliciously -- very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Just made this tonight. Delicious! The only thing different I did was to substitute the the cream of chicken soup with a cream soup base recipe of Nell Marshes that I got from this site. Will definitely be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I also modified this recipe by omitting mushrooms and soup. I added a can of diced tomatoes instead. Like the previous reviewer I substituted brandy for sherry. It turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
gravy was to die for. Will make again & will use chicken parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious! Added extra garlic and had 1/2 amount of mushrooms. Next time I'll use entire amount as they were really good in brown sauce. Took about 20 minutes longer to cook thighs because they were pretty big. I'm going to try this recipe with chicken next time and make pasta as a side dish. Tasted almost "marsala" like. Huge hit at our house. It's a keeper; going into the recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I didn't have any cream of chicken soup mix. So I chopped up half an onion and a stalk of celery and sauteed them in a butter/olive oil mix until they were tender, then added 2-3 T flour, added ~3 cups (total) of chicken stock, salt, pepper, a bay leaf, a dash of thyme, and ~1/4 C sherry. Then I let it sit until the turkey thighs were brown and poured it over. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Had no sherry, never have sherry, skipped the sherry. Made the cream of chicken soup with butter, flour, bouillon, milk, and water. Big whoop, wanna fight about it? Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I needed a turkey thigh recipie asap so I used this a guide but used "go with what you have on hand" approach also. Used cream of mushroom soup since I didn't have mushrooms and red wine since I didn't have sherry. Add some Thyme and Sage and extra garlic. Turned out great. I'll try with chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States