Turkey Tetrazzini II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
UPDATED: I made this again last night with the following additions & it was even better! I added some chopped celery to the onion & garlic and sauteed in olive oil until tender. Then added 1/4 c. sliced mushrooms & sauteed a little longer. Set aside the sauteed vegetables and make a roux in a separate saucepan with the flour & olive oil, and then add sherry wine (1/4 cup) to the broth and then milk (cook about 5 mins, continually stirring). Follow the rest of my review below & you'll love it! When I reached the right consistency, I added frozen peas, chopped turkey, and freshly grated parmesan and asiago cheeses (or romano is good too). I like linguine instead of spaghetti. Add pepper and salt to taste. Top with seasoned bread crumbs with melted butter on top and bake about 1/2 hour til bubbly. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I recently made this recipe with left-over turkey. I cut the recipe in half and added about 1 teaspoon of minced garlic to the butter and also some black pepper. Another small change that I made was to put Italian seasoned bread crumbs on the top and to bake for only 40 minutes. I was very pleased with this recipe and will serve it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! The only changes I made were halving the recipe for my husband & 2 toddlers, and it made enough for 2 meals. I also added about 1/2 t. garlic powder, a dash of pepper, and about 4 T. of sour cream. I also cut the cooking time down to 40 minutes, and probably will cut it down even to 30 minutes so it's a bit more soupy. This is a really delicious recpe, thank you so much!! I will definitely make this recipe again & again. My 2 year old daughter had two HUGE helpings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
My family LOVED this one! I did what others suggested and added a few things: first I saute'd some onions in olive oil, then added some minced garlic, added the turkey to heat it through, added another tablespoon of olive oil with the flour and let it all cook until the flour smelled nutty, then I added some homemade turkey stock instead of the chicken broth, then the milk, and the rest of the recipe. The only other thing I did different was that I added the butter in cubes all over the top of the dish, then added the cheese on top and baked it for only 20 minutes when the cheese was browned. It was so rich and creamy!! Even my girlfriend who hates turkey leftovers had seconds! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYTESHADE74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is similar to my recipe so I thought I'd chime in with some help. I cut the butter to 4 T, add 1/3 cup flour mix. add 2 cups chicken broth, whisking constantly. add 1 1/2 cup lt cream or milk. whisk until thickened. add a dash of cooking sherry and then add 1 cup shredded white cheese (parm, mozz etc). Mix in 4 cups cooked turkey. toss with pasta, sauted mushrooms (or cooked peas) and also toss in a 1/2 small jar of pimentos and 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsely for color. put in 9x13 bake 25-35 at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat Bresler
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
It came out perfect. I first read some of the reviews and followed some of the steps that the previous cooks took. I sauteed minced garlic and onions in olive oil, then added the butter, flour, broth and milk. I also opened a small bag of SWEET peas and used whole grain pasta. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was very good. I only baked for 40 minutes and that was plenty. Also, I added a thin layer of bread crumbs on top. My family all rated this a 5 star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very good, but quite heavy on the Parmesan. I didn't use the remaining 1/3 on the top, but substituted mozza instead. Next time, I'll cut the total amount of Parmesan back to about 1/2 cup. Like others have suggested, I added in about 3 tbsp cooked chopped onion, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, and sprinkled bread crumbs over the top before putting it in the oven at 375 for 50 mins. In the last two mins., I turned the oven up to broil, to brown the bread crumbs. Make sure the milk/stock/butter liquid is mixed in well with the spaghetti, otherwise some of the spaghetti will be crispy at the bottom. Same thing for any exposed spaghetti at the top of the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This is a good comfort food...super easy to put together. Just what I needed to use up my turkey leftovers, but it made a LOT. I'd advise baking it in a 9x13 baking dish or dividing it between two smaller dishes and freezing one for later. Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Liked it but didn't love it. I was thrilled to have a new way to use my leftover Thanksgiving turkey other than soup or sandwiches. I made some adjustments after reading some of the other reviews but I still found it a tad on the bland side. I used large elbow macaroni because I think it holds cream sauce better. Since I'm still traumatized from washing so many dishes on Tday I made the sauce in the same pot that I had used for the pasta which worked well because there's a lot of sauce and it made it easy to mix everything all together. I used unsalted butter because I thought the chicken broth would have enough salt but now I'm thinking I should have used regular butter. I subsituted one cup of half and half for the milk (and used a cup of reg. milk). I sauteed 1 sm onion and 3 cloves of garlic in EVOO in a separate pan, then I found a small can of mushrooms so I threw that in too (sure wish I had more, they're a nice touch. When I tasted the sauce it was bland so I added pepper and seasoning salt. Kept testing it and kept adding more salt; then added all of my sauteed ingredients to the sauce with the turkey & pasta. For topping I mixed parm cheese, seasoned bread crumbs and melted butter. Cooked at 400 for 20 min like someone else suggested. It's pretty good. I'll have to experiment with it again. I love the idea of using up the turkey so I feel pretty satisfied. I'm hoping tomorrow it will taste even better once the pasta absorbs more of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Tetrazzini II

See how to make classic turkey tetrazzini.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States