Turkey Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Not only delicious, but healthy. My son and I had this for supper, and he gave it two thumbs up too. I love cilantro, but didn't have any on hand, but can easily imagine how the cilantro would make it even better. My son said that this could be served as a side at a nice restaurant, very nice compliment. It has an almost exotic quality, with a nice little bite. I didn't have the green chili pepper on hand, so one of the two (14.5 ounce) diced cans of tomato that I used was diced tomatoes with chili peppers. I'll come back to this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
has become my favorite soup!! okay I changed some things. I use either turkey or chicken, instead of onion I use onion flakes, I always leave out: celery, cilantro, green chile pepper, and olives and sometimes the carrots. many reasons those left out, celery just doesn't go to me, never have cilantro, green chiles replaced with salsa, husband doesn't like olives and carrots sometimes I don't want. I use 2 tbs of garlic powder because I never have cloves of garlic. I use 2 cans of kidney beans, instead of one. I put in 1/8 cup of taco seasoning the old el paso kind. And instead of diced tomatoes I use salsa, On the Border salsa to be exact, and the salsa is the difference people!! I have tried another salsa not as good as On the Border salsa!! you can get it at sam's club. trust me I love this soup will drink to the last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious soup! Loved how easy it was to make and love that it is quite healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious! I did however have to adapt it for a family that includes a Vegetarian, and improvise based on what I had. I browned the ground Turkey separately. I sautéed the onion, garlic and 3 ea. of the celery and carrot in the Olive oil, and a chopped red bell pepper. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 med. can of tomato paste along with 2 cups of water. I didn't have taco seasoning, so I improvised by doubling the listed spices. I let it simmer until carrots were tender. Served the turkey on the side as a garnish along with Cilantro and green onion. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DD356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Amazing! The whole family loved this and it tastes even better the next day once the flavor shave had a chance to really meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I love this soup. I made it as is but substituted shredded turkey (great way to use leftovers) for ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Excellent! I didn't have celery or cilantro on hand, and used a canned chili instead of fresh. I also used taco seasoning I from this site instead of the package. I used two cans of chicken broth, and just a pound of ground turkey. I'd prefer less broth and more turkey (like the recipe calls for) for a thicker consistency, but it's harder to do with how things are generally packaged. Excellent, excellent! My 11 month old daughter even loved the black olives. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Yum Yum Yum! Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is so good, with the perfect amount of spice. I made this for some a friend whose husband just had heart surgery. They loved how healthy it was and the how many yummy veggies were in it. I used half low sodium chicken broth and half regular so it wouldn't be too salty. It was perfect! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Wonderful! Delicious!! I used my Thanksgiving turkey,cooked-down carcass and broth from it. The few changes I made were mostly personal preferences. I used pinto beans, because I think they're more taco-y than kidney. And hominy instead of corn, again--more taco-y. I put in a chopped red bell pepper, and a chopped, seeded jalapeno. This would make a wonderful soup to serve a crowd! Yum, yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States