Turkey Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
I had some ground turkey and needed a recipe, this one was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Very good. I used canned pinto beans instead of kidney bean. I would omit the pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This is an easy low-fat salad that is very tasty. I added salsa instead of the taco sauce to the dressing and it was fabulous! I would for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I needed something to use up leftover turkey, I think I will be making this recipe often, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Quite tasty! Half a recipe was more than enough for my family of three. I added some chopped fresh tomatoes. Also, I increased the amount of taco sauce with a little less mayo. Seemed to give it a more taco flavor. Make the dressing to taste. I would also suggest adding the dressing just before serving in order to keep the veggies crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was very good. I only had a little regular mayo, and used some miracle whip. Even with the combination I only had a cup and a half of mayo and it was WAY too much. Next time I'll use light... and not so much. But all in all it was great and my husband asked to bring it for lunch the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This recipe turned out better than I expected. I was expecting a normal, boring taco salad - boy was I surprised! I felt like a chef when I tasted what I had made! I don't cook meat very well, so even something as simple as throwing it in a skillet like this didn't turn out great. However, the taste of the mixture w/o the meat made up for my abilities... or lack of. I didn't use the mayo mixture for a dressing because it tasted so good w/o it, I didn't see the need for it. I also didn't really like the dressing. I added taco seasoning to the meat before adding it, and omitted the taco sauce. I also put a dollop of sour cream on top for a little extra taste on some bites. I couldn't find any shredded pepperjack so I used a shredded cheddarjack mix. I didn't use chips in it at all for carb reasons. I also added chopped tomatoes. I would make this again. Oh, and it tasted great warmed up for lunch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This recipe was awesome! The bf who never eats salads inhaled it and was super satisfied. I used low fat cheese (and only put the tortilla chips in my bf's portion). The sauce was good and not too overpowering as the salad by itself was pretty flavorful. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Very tasty way to use that bland ground turkey that we are trying to eat more of! The dressing makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I used 700g ground chicken, a can of chickpeas, a can of corn and only 1 1/3 cup mayo.. I fried the chicken in taco seasoning, used a jar of garlic salsa instead of taco sauce, omited the olives and pickles, and kept the lettuce and chips seperate so they stay crisp for leftovers. It was a great combination, the sauce worked wonderfully once everything was put together. We would give this a 4.5 but that's not an option and it wasn't outstanding enough for a 5. We will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States